所有爱尔兰公民均有权获得爱尔兰护照。爱尔兰护照允许持有人进行国际旅行,并且是一个人的爱尔兰国籍以及欧盟国籍的证明。在最近的一项国际调查中,爱尔兰护照在世界上排名第六。

爱尔兰护照持有人有权在未事先获得入境签证的情况下访问186个国家。爱尔兰护照在Henley护照索引上的排名高于美国和英国,因此对于这样一个小国来说,它是非常有效的旅行证件。

谁可以申请爱尔兰护照?

  1. 如果您在2005年1月1日之前出生在爱尔兰岛上,那么您是爱尔兰公民,因此有权申请爱尔兰护照。
  2. 如果您于2005年1月1日或之后在爱尔兰岛出生,则您有权获得爱尔兰国籍,并在以下情况下可以申请爱尔兰护照:
    1. 您的父母双方都是爱尔兰公民;
    2. 如果您的父母中有一个在您出生时是英国公民;
    3. 如果您的父母都不是爱尔兰公民或英国公民,但在您出生前的四年中在爱尔兰居住了三年,并且有权在爱尔兰或北爱尔兰居住,而不受其居住地的任何限制;
    4. 如果您的父母中的任何一个在您出生前就获得了难民身份;
    5. 但是,如果您在爱尔兰出生,则无权获得任何其他国家的公民身份。
  3. 如果您是在爱尔兰岛上出生的人在国外出生,则您自动成为爱尔兰公民,可以申请爱尔兰护照。
  4. 如果您的祖父母中的一位在爱尔兰岛上出生,您可能会成为爱尔兰公民。但是,要这样做,您必须先在外国出生登记簿上注册,一旦注册,就可以申请爱尔兰护照。
  5. 如果您的曾祖父母在爱尔兰岛上出生,而您的父母在您出生前已在外国出生登记簿上注册,则您也有权申请爱尔兰公民身份,并随后申请爱尔兰护照。
  6. 如果您不是爱尔兰公民,但被爱尔兰公民父母收养,则您有权获得爱尔兰国籍,并可以申请爱尔兰护照。
  7. 如果您是通过入籍获得爱尔兰国籍的人,则在他们获得入籍证书后即可申请爱尔兰护照。
  8. 如果您通过特殊声明获得公民身份,即从1999年12月2日至2004年12月31日在爱尔兰岛出生的人为外国人,而该人在其出生时有权在国家或地区内享有外交豁免权在1999年12月2日至2004年12月31日期间出生于爱尔兰的海洋或领空,由外国国民,外国船舶或外国飞机出生的人。

如何申请爱尔兰护照

居住在的爱尔兰公民

  • 爱尔兰,
  • 北爱尔兰,
  • 大不列颠,
  • 欧盟,
  • 冰岛,
  • 列支敦士登,
  • 挪威,
  • 瑞士,

可以使用以下方式申请首次护照和/或续签 在线护照服务.

对于爱尔兰护照续签,所有爱尔兰公民,无论居住在哪个国家,都可以使用护照在线服务续签护照簿,续签护照卡或在线申请第一张护照卡。

首次申请护照且不在上述国家或地区居住的爱尔兰公民,应联系就近的爱尔兰大使馆或领事馆以获取护照申请表。

居住在爱尔兰共和国或爱尔兰北部的爱尔兰公民,如果不想使用在线护照服务,可以通过 护照快递服务。可以通过爱尔兰共和国的邮局和北爱尔兰的70多个邮局获得此服务。

在线护照续签服务是有资格使用爱尔兰护照并获得续签的最快,最便宜的方法。一年365天,一天24小时都可使用。

居住在爱尔兰的申请人也可以约见都柏林或科克市护照办公室的公共柜台。这仅是一项基于约会的服务,每天的约会数量有限。

爱尔兰公民必须在其居住的国家/地区申请爱尔兰护照。因此,例如,如果某人在度假期间在爱尔兰,则除非他们通常居住在爱尔兰,否则他们无法申请爱尔兰护照。

爱尔兰护照卡

持有当前有效的爱尔兰护照簿的所有爱尔兰公民均可使用该护照卡。护照卡的最长颁发期限为五年,如果护照簿上的剩余时间不足五年,则该护照卡将与该人的护照簿的到期日期匹配。

护照卡可用于前往瑞士以外的欧盟和欧洲经济区的31个国家。对于不想在旅行时随身携带爱尔兰护照簿的人,护照卡是一种便捷的旅行方式。一个人可以使用在线护照服务来申请爱尔兰护照卡。

需要建议吗?与专家交谈。

Sinnott律师事务所位于都柏林和科克

做一个调查

All Irish citizens are entitled to be issued with an Irish passport. An Irish passport allows the holder to travel internationally and is evidence of a person’s Irish citizenship and also citizenship of the European Union. In a recent international survey, the Irish passport was ranked as sixth in the world.

Holders of Irish passports are entitled to visit 186 countries without obtaining a pre-entry visa in advance. The Irish passport ranks above the United States and the United Kingdom on the Henley passport index so for such a small country, it is a very powerful travel document.

Who can apply for an Irish Passport?

  1. If you born on the island of Ireland before 1 January 2005 you are an Irish citizen and are therefore entitled to apply for an Irish passport.
  2. If you were born on the island of Ireland on or after 1 January 2005 you are entitled to Irish citizenship and to apply for an Irish passport if:
    1. Either of your parents is an Irish citizen;
    2. If either of your parents was a UK citizen at the time of your birth;
    3. If neither of your parents were Irish or UK citizens but have lived in Ireland for three out of the four years prior to your birth and have the right to live in Ireland or Northern Ireland without any restriction on their residence;
    4. If either of your parents were granted refugee status prior to your birth;
    5. If you were born in Ireland however are not entitled to citizenship of any other country.
  3. If you were born abroad to a person who was born on the island of Ireland you are automatically an Irish citizen and can apply for an Irish passport.
  4. If one of your grandparents was born on the island of Ireland you may become an Irish citizen. However, in order to do so you must first register on the Foreign Birth Register and once you are registered on this you can then apply for an Irish passport.
  5. If your great grandparent was born on the island of Ireland and your parent was registered on the Foreign Birth Register prior to your birth you are also entitled to apply for Irish citizenship and subsequently an Irish passport.
  6. If you are not an Irish citizen but are adopted by an Irish citizen parent then you are entitled to Irish citizenship and to apply for an Irish passport.
  7. If you are a person who is granted Irish citizenship by way of naturalisation, you can apply for an Irish passport once they are awarded their certificate of naturalisation.
  8. If you are granted Citizenship through a special declaration, i.e.  where a person born on the Island of Ireland from 2 December 1999 and 31 December 2004 to a foreign national who at the time of the individuals birth was entitled to diplomatic immunity within the state or a person born between 2 December 1999 and 31 December 2004 born in Irish sea or air space to a foreign national, in a foreign ship or in a foreign aircraft.

How to apply for an Irish Passport

Irish citizens who are resident in

  • Ireland,
  • Northern Ireland,
  • Great Britain,
  • the European Union,
  • Iceland,
  • Liechtenstein,
  • Norway,
  • Switzerland,

can apply for a first-time passport and/or renewal using the online passport service.

For Irish passport renewals, all Irish citizens, regardless of their country of residence, can renew their passport book, renew their passport card, or apply for their first passport card online using the passport online service.

Irish citizens who are applying for a passport for the first time and who are not resident in the above countries should contact their nearest Irish embassy or consulate for a passport application form.

Irish citizens residing in the Republic or North of Ireland who do not wish to use the online passport service can submit their application via the passport express service. This service is available through post offices in the Republic of Ireland and over 70 post offices in Northern Ireland.

The online passport renewal service is the fastest and cheapest method of applying for and renewing an Irish passport when a person is eligible to use this service. It is available 24 hours a day 365 days a year.

Applicants residing in Ireland may also make an appointment to attend the public counter at the passport offices located in Dublin or Cork city.  This is an appointment-based service only, with limited daily appointments.

Irish citizens are required to apply for an Irish passport in the country in which they reside. So, if a person is in Ireland for example on holiday, they cannot apply for an Irish passport unless they are ordinarily resident in Ireland.

Irish Passport Card

The passport card is available to all Irish citizens who hold a current valid Irish passport book. A passport card is issued for a maximum of five years or it will match the expiry date of a person’s passport book if there are less than five years remaining on the passport book.

A passport card can be used to travel to the 31 countries of the European Union and the European Economic Area in addition to Switzerland.  The passport card is a convenient method of travel for persons who do not wish to carry their Irish passport book when travelling. A person can apply for an Irish passport card using the online passport service.

Need Advice? Speak With An Expert.

Sinnott Solicitors are located in Dublin & Cork

Make an Enquiry