工作场所伤害索赔

如果您遇到的工作场所事故或事件不是您的过错,而是导致您受伤并需要医疗,则您有权要求赔偿人身伤害。

工作场所伤害索赔

许多员工参与工作场所事故,导致他们受伤。我们遇到的这些类型的工作场所事故主要是由于工作场所内存在的危险,不安全的工作习惯以及雇主普遍缺乏谨慎的责任。

Sinnott Solicitors 通过其都柏林和科克办事处为全国许多员工提供服务,包括厨师、厨房搬运工、建筑工人、商店助理、文员、工厂工人和在工业部门工作的专业人士,以便为他们获得伤害赔偿。

一般而言,雇员若想就工伤事故向雇主提出诉讼,必须证明事故是雇主的过错,而雇主应该对雇员给予更大程度的照顾。如果雇员因工伤缺勤,工伤事故赔偿通常包括对收入损失的索赔。

有时,员工可能有权因工伤而获得心理伤害索赔。例如,对因工伤造成的心理伤害的赔偿包括对任何创伤后应激障碍的赔偿。多年来,我们为许多涉及工作场所事故的员工提供服务,如果您因工作场所事故而受伤并要求赔偿,信诺律师事务所可以协助您提出索赔。

workplace injury

准备工作场所人身伤害索赔

为了准备任何人身伤害索赔,索赔人或索赔人的律师有必要收集尽可能多的证据。

您的律师应立即写信给被告,要求提供CCTV录像带的副本(如果有的话),并且应根据1988-2003年数据保护法第4条向您的律师提供信息。

您的律师还应该获得有关事故的非常详细的描述,证人名单以及他们的地址和电话号码,与事故有关的任何文档,例如工作场所中的事故或与事故有关的事故报告,照片发生事故的区域以及受伤照片。

除了上述准备之外,您的律师还可能有必要写信给被告,要求他们保存与事故有关的各种设备和材料。

您的律师可能会要求被告制定工作场所或事故现场的某些清洁时间表,以协助您的案件。

获得您应得的人身伤害赔偿

Sinnott律师事务所位于都柏林和科克,我们拥有一个人身伤害律师专家团队,可以帮助您解决人身伤害索赔。

提出索赔
安排电话

申请工伤事故的程序是什么?

记录事故

任何工作场所事故的第一步是在事故发生后尽快将事故记录在雇主的事故簿中。您应该确定事故的目击者,并确保他们的姓名也被记录下来。许多雇主将制定工作场所事故程序,要求员工填写工作场所事故报告。在那份报告中,你应该记录事故的细节、目击者的姓名和事故现场的照片。

就医

下一步是拜访您的医生,他将对您的受伤情况进行评估。这应该尽快完成。在更严重的工作场所事故中,可能需要呼叫救护车并前往最近医院的当地事故和急诊科。医院将始终记录您就诊的详细信息以及您因工作场所事故而受伤的程度。当您提出索赔时,这对您的律师很有用,因为您的律师将提供有关出院情况、治疗您的医生以及有关您受伤的一些信息的详细信息。如果您去看全科医生,您的律师会写信给您的全科医生,要求提供与您受伤有关的医疗报告。

向健康与安全局报告

可能有必要将事故通知健康与安全局,这取决于事故的严重程度。您的律师会建议您是否应将工作场所事故通知健康与安全局。一般来说,如果一个人在工作场所发生事故后连续三天缺勤,那么雇主必须根据 ACT 2005工作中的健康与安全.

收集证据

您的律师将收集与您的事故有关的所有必要信息。您的律师将根据数据保护法向您的雇主索取您的员工档案,该档案将或肯定应包含事故报告和您的事故详情。您的律师还会向您的雇主写一封索赔信,让您的雇主承担事故责任,并让您的雇主有机会提出他们的建议,以补偿您的伤害。这封信还会建议您的雇主立即联系他们的保险公司,如果他们还没有通知他们发生了事故。

获取专家专家或工程师的报告

您的律师将决定是否应立即雇用工程师来检查现场或检查事故或事故现场。该工程师的报告对于处理您的工伤委员会索赔或以后的法庭诉讼至关重要。工程师将是一名在检查事故和工作场所伤害事故现场方面经验丰富的专业事故现场工程师。例如,工作场所的许多设备都有安全规范和操作规范,您的工程师可能会认为该设备或机械未按照要求的特定规范运行。

获得您应得的工伤赔偿

Sinnott律师事务所位于都柏林和科克,我们拥有一支由人身伤害律师组成的专家团队,可帮助您处理工作场所伤害索赔。

提出索赔
安排电话

建筑工地事故索赔和赔偿

许多建筑工人和建筑公司员工参与工作场所事故,导致他们遭受人身伤害。我们遇到了许多建筑工地事故,并为涉及的人处理了赔偿要求。为了要求赔偿建筑工地事故,有必要证明该事故是由雇主的谨慎义务引起的。建筑工地通常是非常危险的环境,雇主必须遵守许多法规。卫生与安全局积极参与建筑场地安全监管,通常将检查报告给卫生与安全局的事故现场。如果您曾经发生过建筑工地事故,并需要为您的伤害索赔,Sinnott律师可以为您提供任何赔偿要求。如果索赔人由于事故而无法在一段时间内工作,那么建筑工地事故的赔偿也可以包括收入损失的赔偿。赔偿还可以包括在某些情况下与建筑工地事故有关的心理伤害赔偿。如果您卷入了建筑工地事故,我们强烈建议立即报告该事故,并向适当的上司提交事故报告。

工作场所滑倒绊倒索赔和赔偿

许多要求对滑倒,绊倒和跌倒案件进行赔偿的索赔人可以通过多种方式提出。由于溢出,表面不平整或存在任何可能导致索赔人受伤的危险,因此会发生许多滑倒,绊倒和跌倒。一般而言,如果危险被允许发展或继续,并且很明显危险的存在可能是造成事故的原因,则在这种情况下,被告将被视为违反了其对索赔人的谨慎义务。 。在各种情况下,法院提出的绝大多数伤害索赔都与滑倒,绊倒和跌倒有关。为了就滑倒,绊倒和跌倒造成的伤害提出索赔,有必要证明被告应承担责任,方法是在被告人本应知道被告人应承担的责任的情况下,使危险发生或继续,危险可能会导致事故。如果您在滑倒,绊倒或跌倒事故中受伤,那么您可能有权获得赔偿。滑倒,绊倒和跌倒可能发生在各种情况和地方,例如超级市场,工作场所,学校,公共场所,人行道等。如果您希望就滑倒,绊倒或跌倒提出诉讼,Sinnott律师可以协助您索赔。如果索赔人因事故而失业,就滑倒,绊倒或跌倒事故而提出的人身伤害赔偿索赔也可能包括收入损失索赔。在某些情况下,索赔人可能有权就与滑倒,绊倒或跌倒事故相关的心理伤害提出索赔。在某些情况下,此类心理伤害可能包括对创伤后应激障碍的索赔。

最近在法庭上成功的工伤索赔

在以下情况下,一名员工因在就业过程中受伤而获得超过 189,000 欧元的工伤赔偿 Twomey v. Jeral Ltd [2020] IEHC 676(高等法院(综合),Meenan J,2020 年 10 月 29 日)。 高等法院在评估原告在受雇期间右小腿严重撕裂的人身伤害诉讼中的损害赔偿时发现原告的疼痛是真实的,并且是由事故引起的。在她受雇期间,原告卷入了一起工伤事故,钢梁落在她的右腿后部,造成撕裂伤。疤痕长约25厘米。

法院认定并且她还确定了未来收入损失的损害赔偿基础,但未来的收入损失应减少,称为“Reddy v. Bates”扣除 40% 的基础是零售业受到不利影响;因此,法院判给原告 80,000 欧元的一般损害赔偿,69,037.20 欧元的未来收入损失,因为她未来的就业报酬将低于她目前收到的报酬,以及 40,372.30 欧元的特殊损害赔偿,总赔偿金额为 189,409.50 欧元.

在以下情况下,一名员工因滑倒在工作场所外而获得了 75,000 欧元的工伤赔偿 Farrell 诉农业部长 [2020] IEHC 660(高等法院(一般),Barrett J,2020 年 12 月 15 日)。 高等法院在人身伤害诉讼中判给原告雇员 75,000 欧元的一般损害赔偿金,对她的雇主和代表雇主聘用的设施管理公司作为被告,因原告在停车场滑倒和跌倒而引起的在她雇主的场所之外。

法院首先认定,无可争议的证据是停车场在关键时间完全没有照明;其次,雇主疏忽了未能在合理切实可行的范围内确保原告进出她工作地点的方式。工作是安全的,不会危及她的健康。

如果您对因受伤而导致的工作场所事故赔偿有任何疑问,信诺律师事务所很乐意为您提供建议。我们在全国范围内受理工伤事故。我们的办公室位于科克和都柏林,您可以通过电子邮件联系我们 info@sinnott.ie 或通过电话 003531 4062862

阅读更多 - 伤害委员会和伤害法院索赔程序指南

获得您应得的人身伤害赔偿

Sinnott律师事务所位于都柏林和科克,我们拥有一个人身伤害律师专家团队,可以帮助您解决人身伤害索赔。

提出索赔
安排电话

Workplace Injury Claims

If you have been involved in a workplace accident or incident which was not your fault and which led to you sustaining an injury for which medical treatment was necessary then you are entitled to claim compensation for personal injuries.

Workplace Injury Claims

Many employees are involved in workplace accidents which cause them to suffer injuries.  They types of workplace accidents that we come across are mainly due to a hazard that exists within the workplace, unsafe work practices and a general lack of the duty of care on the part of the employer.

Sinnott Solicitors through their Dublin and Cork offices have acted for many employees nationwide including Chefs, Kitchen Porters, Construction Workers, Store Assistants, Clerical Workers, Factory Workers and professionals working within industrial sectors in order to achieve for them compensation for their injuries.

Generally speaking, an employee who wishes to take a case against their employer for injuries relating to a work accident must prove that the accident was the fault of the employer and that the employer should have exercised a greater degree of care in relation to the employee. Compensation for work accidents generally would include a claim for loss of earnings if the employee is absent from work as a result of the work accident.

Sometimes, an employee may be entitled to claim for psychological injuries as a result of a work accident.  Compensation for psychological injuries as a result of work accidents would include, for example, compensation for any post traumatic stress disorder.  We have acted for many employees that have been involved in workplace accidents over the years and if you have sustained injuries as a result of a workplace accident for which you require compensation, Sinnott Solicitors can assist you with taking your claim.

workplace injury

Preparation for a workplace personal injury claim

In order to prepare for any personal injuries claim it will be necessary for the claimant or claimant’s Solicitor to gather as much evidence as possible.

Your Solicitor should immediately write to the defendant requesting a copy of the CCTV footage if available and that information should be furnished to your Solicitor under Section 4 of the Data Protection acts 1988-2003.

Your Solicitor should also obtain a very detailed description of the accident, a list of witnesses together with their addresses and telephone numbers, any documentation in relation to your accident for example an accident in the workplace or an accident report in relation to your accident, photographs of the area in which the accident took place and photographs of the injuries sustained.

In addition to the above preparation it might also be necessary for your Solicitor to write to the Defendant demanding that they preserve various equipment and materials relating to the accident.

Your Solicitor might require the Defendant to produce certain cleaning schedules of the workplace or accident scene in order to assist your case.

Get the compensation you deserve for your Personal Injury

Sinnott Solicitors are located in Dublin & Cork, we have an expert team of personal injury solicitors to help you with your personal injury claim.

Start Your Claim
Schedule A Call

What is the procedure for taking a work accident claim?

Record the accident

The first step with any workplace accident is to record the accident in the employer’s accident book as soon as possible after the accident. You should identify the witnesses to the accident and make sure that their names are recorded also.  Many employers will have a procedure in place for workplace accidents requiring the employee to fill out a workplace accident report.  In that report you should record the details of the accident, the names of the witnesses and photographs of the scene of the accident should be taken.

Get Medical Attention

The next step is to visit your doctor who will carry out an assessment of your injuries.  This should be done as soon as possible.  In more serious workplace accidents it may be necessary to call an ambulance and to go to the local accident and emergency department at your nearest hospital.  The hospital will always take details of your visit and the extent of your injuries from the workplace accident.  This will be useful for your Solicitor when you take a claim because your Solicitor will have details of the hospital attendance, the doctor who treated you and some information regarding your injuries.  If you attend your GP, your Solicitor will write to your GP requesting a medical report in relation to your injuries.

Reports to the Health & Safety Authority

It might be necessary for the Health & Safety Authority to be informed of the accident and that depends on how serious the accident is.  Your Solicitor will advise you as to whether the Health & Safety Authority should be informed of the workplace accident. Generally if a person is absent from work for a period of three consecutive days following a work place accident, then the employer must inform the Health and Safety Authority of the accident pursuant the Health and Safety at Work ACT 2005.

Gathering Evidence

Your Solicitor will gather all of the necessary information in relation to your accident.  Your Solicitor will request your employee file from your employer under the Data Protection Acts and that file will or certainly should contain the accident report and details of your accident.  Your Solicitor will also write a letter of claim to your employer which will allow your employer to accept liability for the accident and it will give your employer an opportunity to put their proposals forward to compensate you in relation to your injuries.  The letter will also advise your employer to contact their insurance company immediately to notify them of the accident if they haven’t already done so.

Getting a specialist expert or Engineer’s Report

Your Solicitor will decide whether an Engineer should be employed immediately in order to examine the scene or inspect the scene of the incident or accident. That Engineer’s Report could provide crucial in dealing with your Injuries Board claim or later Court proceedings.  The Engineer will be a specialised accident scene engineer experienced in the area of examining accident and work place injury accident scenes. For example a lot of equipment in the workplace would have safety specifications and operation  specifications and your Engineer might decide that the piece of equipment or machinery was not operating to the specific specifications required.

Get the compensation you deserve for your Workplace Injury

Sinnott Solicitors are located in Dublin & Cork, we have an expert team of personal injury solicitors to help you with your workplace injury claim.

Start Your Claim
Schedule A Call

Building Sites accident Claims and Compensation

Many construction workers and employees of construction companies are involved in workplace accidents causing them to suffer personal injuries.  We come across many building site accidents and we deal with compensation claims for those involved.  In order to claim compensation for a building site accident, it is necessary to prove that the accident was caused by a failure of the duty of care of the employer.  Building sites are generally very hazardous environments and there are many regulations and laws which must be upheld by employers.  The Health & Safety Authority is heavily involved in the regulation of safety in respect of building sites and will generally inspect the site of an accident reported to the Health & Safety Authority.  If you have been involved in a building site accident and require compensation for your injuries, Sinnott Solicitors can assist you with any compensation claim.  Compensation for building site accidents can also include compensation for loss of earnings if the Claimant is not in a position to work for a period of time as a result of the accident.  Compensation can also include compensation for psychological injuries in connection with the building site accident in certain circumstances.  If you have been involved in a building site accident, we strongly recommend that the accident is reported immediately and that an incident report is filed with your appropriate superiors.

Workplace Slips trips and falls claims and Compensation

Many Claimants seeking compensation for slips, trips and falls cases can arise in a variety of ways.  Many slips, trips and falls occur due to spillage, uneven surfaces or any hazard which is present which causes a Claimant an injury.  Generally speaking, if a hazard is allowed to develop or continue and if it is quite clear that the presence of the hazard may be the cause of an accident, the Defendant will be deemed to have breached its duty of care to a Claimant in those circumstances.  The vast majority of injury claims that come before the Courts are in relation to slips, trips and falls in a variety of circumstances.  In order to make a claim for compensation for injuries sustained by slips, trips and falls, it is necessary to prove that the liability rests with the Defendant by allowing the hazard to either develop or continue in circumstances where the Defendant ought to have known that the hazard would cause an accident.  If you have been injured in a slip, trip or fall accident, then you may be entitled to compensation for your injuries.  Slips, trips and falls can occur in a variety of circumstances and places such as supermarkets, at work, schools, public places, footpaths amongst others.  If you wish to take a case in relation to a slip, trip or fall, Sinnott Solicitors can assist you in taking a claim for compensation.  A clam for compensation for personal injuries in respect of a slip, trip or fall accident may also include a claim for loss of earnings if the Claimant was out of work as a result of the accident.  In certain circumstances, a Claimant may be entitled to take a claim for psychological injuries associated with the slip, trip or fall accident.  Such psychological injuries could include a claim for post traumatic stress disorder in certain circumstances.

Recent successful work accident claims before the Courts

An Employee awarded over €189K in work accident compensation arising from injuries suffered in the course of employment in the case of Twomey v. Jeral Ltd [2020] IEHC 676 (High Court (General), Meenan J, 29 October 2020. The High Court, in assessing damages in a personal injuries action where the plaintiff suffered severe lacerations to her right calf in the course of her employment found that the plaintiff’s pain was genuine and caused by the accident. During the course of her employment the Plaintiff was involved in a work accident where a steel girder fell on the back of her right leg causing the laceration. The scar was approximately 25 cm in length.

The Court found and that she also established a basis for damages for future loss of earnings  but that the future loss of earnings should be subject to a reduction which is referred to as a “Reddy v. Bates” deduction of 40% on the basis that the retail sector was adversely affected; and accordingly, the court awards the plaintiff €80,000 in general damages, €69,037.20 for future loss of earnings as her future remuneration for future employment would be lower than what she currently received and €40,372.30 in special damages, giving a total award of €189,409.50.

An Employee was awarded €75,000 in work accident compensation arising from slip and fall outside workplace in the case of Farrell v. Minister for Agriculture [2020] IEHC 660 (High Court (General), Barrett J, 15 December 2020). The High Court, in personal injuries proceedings awarded general damages in the sum of €75,000 to the plaintiff employee against her employer and a facilities management company engaged on the employer’s behalf as defendants, arising from the plaintiff’s slip and fall on leaves in a car park outside her employer’s premises.

The court found firstly that the unchallenged evidence was that the car park was completely unlit at the material time and secondly that the employer was negligent in failing to ensure so far as is reasonably practicable that the plaintiff’s means of access to and egress from her place of work was safe and without risk to her health.

If you have any queries regarding workplace accident compensation as a result of your injuries, Sinnott Solicitors would be happy to advise you. We take work accident cases nationwide. Our offices are located in Cork and Dublin and we may be contacted by email at info@sinnott.ie or by telephone on 003531 4062862

Read more – Guide to the Injuries Board and Injury Court Claims process

Get the compensation you deserve for your Personal Injury

Sinnott Solicitors are located in Dublin & Cork, we have an expert team of personal injury solicitors to help you with your personal injury claim.

Start Your Claim
Schedule A Call