Following the Soysal judgment in 2009, the Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) has now clarified that Turkish nationals do not have the right to enter the territory of an EU Member State without a visa in order to obtain services.

The Court found that “the notion of ‘freedom to provide services’ referred to in the ‘standstill clause’ of the Additional Protocol does not encompass passive freedom of provision of services, namely the freedom for Turkish nationals who are the recipients of services to visit a Member State in order to obtain services”.

The press release from the Court can be accessed here: