将证书结果留给高等法院的挑战

如果您是毕业证书学生,而其成绩已被 教育部门,您可以通过向高等法院提出司法审查申请来提出法律挑战。

9月15日,第一个挑战被提交高等法院。该案涉及一名学生,其成绩已从其老师授予的预测成绩中降级。由于她的毕业证书等级的降低,该学生差一点就错过了她学习医学的地方两分。 Meenan法官已将申请延期一周,以使该州知悉该申请,并预计将加速审理此案。

许多学生处于相似的位置。实际上,许多学生已经获得了第三级的位置,但是他们仍然处于这样的位置,即教育部通过使用标准化程序降低了老师授予的学生的预测成绩。这实际上意味着,他们的毕业证书不能反映最初授予的成绩,结果会使学生的学习成绩降低。

在过去的几年中,Sinnott律师已经针对国家提出了许多成功的司法复审申请。我们在评估任何可能的司法审查申请方面都具有丰富的经验,并且在成功获得司法审查申请方面享有盛誉。我们将介绍爱尔兰的最高司法复审顾问,以处理这些案件。

在过去的几周内,我们已经收到了离开证书的学生及其父母的大量询问,我们目前正在为受影响的学生准备司法审查申请。

如果您有任何疑问,请立即联系我们 00353 1 406 2862 要么 info@sinnott.ie.

Leaving Cert Solicitors - Sinnott Solicitors
Leaving Cert Legal Advice - Sinnott Solicitors
Leaving Cert Legal Challenge - Sinnott Solicitors
Leaving Cert Legal Action - Sinnott Solicitors

评估离职证书候选人是一项法律挑战

为了让我们评估每种情况的优劣,我们有必要获得非常具体的说明,证明所授予的预测成绩,检查所授予的成绩以及降级对学生的潜在影响。

向高等法院挑战离职证书等级的成本

如果司法审查申请人成功,那么司法审查申请的费用通常由国家承担。

如果您有任何疑问,请随时与我们联系 00353 1 406 2862 要么 info@sinnott.ie.

立即联系Sinnott律师!我们拥有离职证书律师,专门从事离职证书法律挑战,离职证书法律咨询以及所有离职证书法律诉讼。

安排回叫

司法审查的工作方式

有关司法审查工作原理的详细分析,请参阅以下内容:

  1. 什么是司法审查
  2. 可以对谁进行司法审查
  3. 司法复核申请的时限
  4. 司法审查程序如何运作
  5. 司法审查的典型依据
  6. 司法审查通过后会发生什么
  7. 在移民事务中采用司法审查申请的示例

Sinnott律师事务所在爱尔兰拥有一支高度专业化的律师团队,在为寻求将司法复审程序提交高等法院的客户代理方面具有丰富的经验。

多年来,Sinnott律师已经为我们的客户申请了如此多的成功司法审查申请,因此不可能在这里列出所有这些案件。辛诺特律师事务所因在庇护和移民,规划法,加尔达赔偿问题,公共机构,地方当局和行政机关的决策方面具有特殊公共重要性的事项而在高等法院处理备受关注的复杂司法审查事项而赢得了良好声誉在特定法律问题上没有针对高等法院的上诉或上诉机制的机构,例如在学生资助案中。我们已将司法复审案件提交高等法院,并继续在上诉法院,最高法院和欧洲法院对这些案件进行诉讼。

什么是司法审查?

高等法院可以对公共决定进行司法审查,以确定它们是否违宪或违法。司法审查是一种法律机制,使个人(包括法人)可以质疑公共机构的决定或公共机构的遗漏。除非对某人的决定或遗漏感到委屈的人指定了其他一些适用程序,否则司法复核是适当的补救措施,即使有关机构的立法中未明确提及。

认为政府机关,地方法院或巡回法院,半州机构,地方议会或法定法庭等公共当局的决定侵犯了他或她的权利的人,可以向高等法院提出申请。对该决定进行司法审查。

在审理判决时,法院主要关注的是决策者或决策机构行使决策权的方式,而不是判决本身的优点。这不是上诉程序,法院不会用其意见代替公共当局的意见。

高等法院关注的是决定的制定方式和公正性,而不是开始时是否正确的决定。法院主要关注是否考虑了所有相关因素,是否存在任何欺诈,欺诈或恶意的证据,或者该机构的决定是否具有这样做的法律能力。

为了提起司法审查程序,向高等法院提出了申请,但未通知决策机构,要求法院请假(许可)对相关裁决提出异议。

申请书必须列出适用的问题,此时申请人有很大的责任公开所有相关事实。除非法院认为有充分的理由批准延期,否则必须迅速提出许可申请,无论如何都应在以下规定的时限内提出请求。

如果准予许可,诉讼将在相关公共机构进行,并为他们提供辩护的机会。该案将根据书面证据决定,一般不会提交口头证据。成功的司法审查程序的结果是,相关的决定被搁置了。

如果您有任何疑问或需要更多信息,请立即联系我们 00353 1 406 2862 要么 info@sinnott.ie.

可以向谁寻求司法审查?

可以对行使公共职能的任何个人或机构提出司法审查程序。一般而言,该个人或机构是根据立法设立的,该法律赋予该个人或机构首先具有做出决定的法定职能。

只有高等法院以及在上诉时最高法院具有审判司法复审程序的管辖权。司法审查不是针对这些法院的补救措施。这些法院的裁决只能向高级法院提出质疑。
在某些情况下,如果一个人的私人组织履行公共职能,则可以对其进行司法复审。例如,在根据1958年《灵狮工业法》赋予该公司某些法定职能的情况下,对该公司进行了司法复审程序。

司法审查申请的时限  

根据最近的修正案,适用的法院规则现在规定,此类诉讼必须在首次提出申请理由之日起3个月内开始。对其他事项进行司法复审的期限如下:

一般事项包括:

离开证书的挑战:3个月
移民案件:自决定之日起14天
规划决策:8周
授予公共合同:30天

延长受理司法复审案件的时间

在特殊情况下,如果法院认为有充分充分的理由可以延长期限。

延迟的申请通常会被拒绝,实际上,有些案件 内 如果申请人的延误已经或可能对被诉人或第三方造成损害,则该时限仍可被取消。

司法复审程序如何工作?

司法审查是一个分为两个阶段的过程。首先,必须在上述规定的时限内提出“休假”申请。

申请人必须准备法院文件,并详细说明他所寻求的救济以及基于什么理由,并且必须继续以一种或多种形式的书面和宣誓证据(以“誓章”的形式)为他的申请提供支持。与案件有关的更多人员。

然后必须在法院出庭,并根据律师和律师代表申请人准备的文件申请许可。除了某些例外情况,此操作无需通知预期的被调查者,也无需该被调查者的参与。这被称为“单方面”,这意味着无需另行通知。

法院可以部分或全部准予请求的许可,并可以基于所提出的部分或全部理由。如果由于案件“有争议”而准予全部或部分许可,法院文件(包括宣誓书)将送达对方或当事方,他们将有机会提出反对书,包括宣誓书。回复。

对于某些限制性司法审查,还必须在通知被告的情况下提出许可申请,除非有“充分依据”,而不仅仅是“有争议的案件”,否则将不给予许可。

誓章交换完成后,并且处理了案件中引起的任何其他事项后,将为案件分配开庭日期。然后,此事将进行全面听证,但通常无需证人提供口头证据(因为他们的证词将在誓章中提供)。当事人的法定代表人将提请法院注意宣誓书的有关部分及其所附文件,并根据这些内容和适用法律提出论点和意见。

是否对高等法院的决定提出上诉?

除非在任何特定案件中高等法院的裁决对最高法院的上诉有某些法定限制,否则高等法院关于司法复审的任何决定均可向最高法院提出上诉。

司法审查的典型依据

  • 违反自然和宪法正义–“反对偏见的规则”,以及“聆听另一方”的要求;
  • 合理性–公共机构是否滥用了管辖权?他们的决定是否违反了基本理性和常识?
  • 对获得利益或特权的合法期望,这是由于代表公共机构作出的明确承诺或个人可以合理预期会继续存在的常规惯例而产生的。
  • 比例性–立法在宪法权利方面施加的限制是否不相称并因此无效?

司法审查通过后会发生什么

如果司法审查申请成功,则可以采取许多酌处补救措施: 

  • Certiorari –法院可以撤销(撤销)违法行为
  • 禁酒令 –法院禁止公共机构采取非法行动
  • 万达慕斯 –法院强迫公共权力机构履行公共性质的法律义务
  • 损害赔偿–如果法院认为判给申请人损害赔偿是适当的附加补救措施,则法院可以判给申请人损害赔偿
  • 费用 –在司法复审程序确定后,法院将决定申请人是否有权承担其法律费用。

司法复核申请的例子

多年来,Sinnott律师已接受了如此多的司法复审申请,因此不可能一一列举,但以下是我们的客户向高等法院提出的成功司法复审申请的一些示例。我们已将司法复审案件提交高等法院,并继续在上诉法院,最高法院和欧洲法院对这些案件进行诉讼。

  • 国籍/入籍案件–司法审查

我们的许多客户在等待过长时间的公民身份决定后,都通过提起司法审查程序来最终确定了他们的申请。同样,我们的许多客户的部长都非法拒绝了其入籍/入籍申请,这些决定被高等法院推翻。

  • 家庭团聚–司法审查

高等法院批准我们的客户 证书 取消部长根据《 2013年欧洲联盟(辅助保护)条例》(2013年第426号SI)第25(4)条的决定,拒绝申请人的准许其家庭成员进入和居住在该州的申请。我们的许多客户已在家庭团聚方面成功地提出了司法复审申请

  • 欧盟条约权利案件–司法审查

我们的许多客户都在等待决定永久居留卡或审查的时间过长,因此他们已经通过进行司法审查程序来最终确定了他们的申请。我们的许多客户的部长都非法拒绝了他们的居留卡,复审申请和保留居留卡申请,这些决定被高等法院推翻。

  • 签证拒签-司法审查

我们的许多客户正在等待签证的长期停留或短暂停留时间的决定,他们的申请已通过进行司法审查程序而最终确定。部长非法拒绝了签证上诉的许多客户的决定已被高等法院推翻。

  • 拒绝国际保护–司法审查

我们的许多客户在等待国际保护决定的时间过长,已经通过提起司法审查程序来最终确定了他们的申请。部长还非法拒绝了我们的许多国际保护申请客户,这些决定被高等法院推翻。 

  • 拒绝就业许可证–司法审查

部长非法拒绝了我们的许多客户的国际保护申请,这些决定被高等法院推翻。

如果您对自己已经收到或希望收到的决定有任何疑问,在司法审查可能是适当的补救办法的情况下,请随时 联系Sinnott律师info@sinnott.ie014062962 我们的一名离职证书律师很乐意与您交谈。

立即联系Sinnott律师

我们拥有离职证书律师,专门从事离职证书法律挑战,离职证书法律咨询以及所有离职证书法律诉讼。

安排回叫

Challenge of Leaving Certificate Results before the High Court

If you are a Leaving Certificate student whose grades have been downgraded by the Department of Education, you could be entitled to take a legal challenge by way of an application for Judicial Review before the High Court.

On 15th September, the first challenge was brought before the High Court. The case concerns a student whose grades were downgraded from the predictive grades that the student had been awarded by her teachers. As a result of the downgrading of her Leaving Certificate grades, the student narrowly missed out on her place to study medicine by two points. Mr. Justice Meenan has adjourned the application for one week in order to put the State on notice of the application and it is anticipated that the case will be heard on an accelerated basis.

Many students are in a similar position. In fact many students received their third level place but they are still left in a position where the student’s predictive grades awarded by their teachers have been downgraded by the Department of Education by using a standardisation process. That effectively means that their Leaving Certificate does not reflect the grades initially awarded and students are left with a lesser academic record as a result.

Sinnott Solicitors have taken many successful judicial review applications against the State of over the past number of years. We are experienced in assessing any potential application for Judicial review and we have a well established reputation for taking successful Judicial Review applications. We brief the top Judicial Review Counsel in Ireland in order to take these cases.

We have received numerous queries from Leaving Certificate students and their parents over the past number of weeks are we are currently in the process of preparing judicial review applications for those students affected.

If you have any queries do not hesitate to contact us today on 00353 1 406 2862 or info@sinnott.ie.

Leaving Cert Solicitors - Sinnott Solicitors
Leaving Cert Legal Advice - Sinnott Solicitors
Leaving Cert Legal Challenge - Sinnott Solicitors
Leaving Cert Legal Action - Sinnott Solicitors

Assessment of Leaving Certificate candidates a Legal challenge

In order for us to assess the merits of each case, it is necessary for us to obtain very specific instructions, proof of the predictive grades awarded, examination of the grade awarded and the likely implications of the downgrading for the student.

Costs of challenging Leaving Certificate grades before the High Court

If an applicant for Judicial Review is successful, then the costs of the judicial review application are generally borne by the State.

If you have any questions do not hesitate to get in touch on 00353 1 406 2862 or info@sinnott.ie.

Contact Sinnott Solicitors Today! We have Leaving Cert Solicitors specialising in Leaving Cert legal challenges, Leaving Cert legal advice & all Leaving Cert legal action.

Schedule a Callback

How judicial review works

For a detailed analysis of how Judicial Review works please see the following:

  1. What is Judicial Review
  2. Against whom can a judicial review be brought
  3. Time Limits for judicial review applications
  4. How do Judicial Review Proceedings work
  5. Typical grounds for judicial review
  6. What happens after the grant of Judicial Review
  7. Examples of where Judicial Review Applications are taken in Immigration matters

Sinnott Solicitors have a highly specialised team of solicitors in Ireland with extensive experience in acting for clients seeking to bring Judicial Review Proceedings in the High Court.

Sinnott Solicitors have taken so many Successful Judicial Review applications for our clients over the years that it would be impossible to list of all of those cases here. Sinnott Solicitors have developed an excellent reputation for taking high profile complex Judicial Review matters before the High Court concerning matters of exceptional public importance in the areas asylum and Immigration, Planning law, Garda compensation mattes, challenges to decisions of public bodies, local authorities and administrative bodies where there exists no appeal or an appeal mechanism on a specific point of law to the High Court such as in Student Grant cases. We have brought judicial review cases before the High Court and continued to litigate those cases before the Court of Appeal, The Supreme Court and the European Court of Justice.

What is Judicial Review?

Public decisions may be judicially reviewed by the High Court to determine whether they are unconstitutional or illegal. Judicial review is a legal mechanism which enables persons (including legal persons) to challenge the decisions of public bodies or the omissions of such bodies. Unless some other procedure is specified as applicable where a person is aggrieved by a decision or omission of such a body, judicial review is the appropriate remedy, even if it is not expressly mentioned in the legislation governing the body concerned.

A person who feels that a decision of a public authority, such as a government minister, the District or Circuit Court, a semi-state body, the local council or a statutory tribunal has violated his or her rights, may apply to the High Court for judicial review of the decision.

In looking at the decision the courts are principally concerned about the manner in which the decision-making person or body has exercised the relevant power in making the decision rather than the merits of the decision itself. It is not an appeal process and the court does not substitute its opinion for that of the public authority.

The High Court is concerned with how the decision was made and the fairness of it rather than whether it was the correct decision to begin with. The court is predominately concerned with whether all relevant considerations were taken into account, whether there was any evidence of deceit, fraud or bad faith or whether the body make the decision had the legal capacity to do so.

In order to bring Judicial Review Proceedings an application is made to the High Court, without notice to the decision making body requesting the court for leave (permission) to challenge the relevant decision.

The application must set out the applicable issues and the applicant bears a high onus to disclose all relevant facts at this point. An application for leave must be made promptly and in any event within the time limits set out below unless the Court considers there is good reason for granting an extension.

In the event that leave is granted, the proceedings are served on the relevant public body and they are given an opportunity to defend the matter. The case will be decided on the basis of written evidence and generally no oral evidence is submitted. The outcome of successful Judicial Review Proceedings is that the relevant decision is set aside.

If you have any queries or need more information contact us today on 00353 1 406 2862 or info@sinnott.ie.

Against whom can judicial review be sought?

Judicial review proceedings can be brought against any person or body exercising a public function. Generally speaking that person or body is set up under legislation empowering the person or body with the statutory function of making the decision in the first place.

Only the High Court, and, on appeal, the Supreme Court, have jurisdiction to entertain judicial review proceedings. Judicial review is not a remedy against those courts. The decisions of those courts can only be challenged to a Higher court.
A person may, in certain circumstance take judicial review proceedings against private bodies if those bodies are carrying out public functions. For example, judicial review proceedings were issued against the Irish Coursing Club Limited, a private limited company, in circumstances where that company had been given certain statutory functions under the Greyhound Industry Act 1958.

Time Limits for Judicial Review Applications  

Following a recent amendment, the applicable rules of court now state that such proceedings must be commenced within 3 months from the date when grounds for the application first arose. Time Limits within which to take judicial review proceedings of other matters are as follows:

General Matters including:

Leaving Certificate challenges: 3 months
Immigration cases: 14 days from the date of the decision
Planning Decisions: 8 weeks
Awarding of Public Contracts: 30 Days

Extension of time for taking Judicial Review cases

In exceptional circumstances, the time limit  can be extended by the court if it considers that there is good and sufficient reason to do so.

Delayed applications will normally be refused, and, indeed, some cases brought within the time limit may still be dismissed if the applicant’s delay has caused or is likely to cause prejudice to a respondent or third party.

How do judicial review proceedings work?

Judicial review is a two-stage process. In the first instance, an application for  “leave”  must be made within the prescribed time limits, as set out above.

The applicant must prepare court documents and set out in some detail what relief he is seeking, and on what grounds, and must go on to support his application with sufficient written and sworn evidence (in the form of an “affidavit”) from one or more persons, as relevant to the case.

The must then appear before the court and apply for leave on the basis of the papers that Counsel and Solicitors have prepared on the Applicants behalf. Apart from certain exceptions, this is done without notice to the intended respondent, and without the participation of such respondent. This is called “upon and ex parte basis “ which means without notice to the other side.

The court may partially or wholly grant the leave sought, and may do so on some or all of the grounds put forward. If leave is granted, whether wholly or partly, because the case is “arguable”, the court documents (including the affidavits) will be served upon the opposing party or parties, and they will have an opportunity to file papers in opposition, including affidavits in reply.

In the case of certain restrictive types of judicial review the application for leave must also be made on notice to the respondent, and leave will not be given unless there are “substantial grounds”, rather than just an “arguable case.”

Once the exchange of affidavits is complete, and any other matters arising in the case have been dealt with, the case will be assigned a hearing date. The matter will then proceed to a full hearing, but usually without oral evidence being given by witnesses (as their evidence will have been given on affidavit). The parties’ legal representatives will draw the attention of the court to the relevant portions of the affidavits and the documents appended to them, and make arguments and submissions based on these, and on the applicable law.

Is there an appeal against the High Court’s decision?

Unless there is some statutory restriction on an appeal from the High Court decision to the Supreme Court in any particular case, any decision of the High Court on a judicial review may be appealed to the Supreme Court.

Typical grounds for judicial review

  • Breach of Natural and Constitutional Justice – ‘the rule against bias’, and the requirement to ‘hear the other side’;
  • Reasonableness – Did the public authority abuse its jurisdiction? Does their decision offend against fundamental reason and common sense?
  • Legitimate Expectation of receiving a benefit or privilege which arises either from an express promise given on behalf of a public authority or the existence of a regular practice which an individual can reasonable expect to continue.
  • Proportionality – Are restrictions imposed by legislation in the context of constitutional rights disproportionate and therefore invalid?

What happens after the grant of Judicial Review

If the application for judicial review is successful, there are a number of discretionary remedies: 

  • Certiorari – the Court may set aside (quash) the unlawful act
  • Prohibition – the Court prohibits the public authority from acting unlawfully
  • Mandamus – the Court compels the public authority to perform a legal duty of a public nature
  • Damages– The Court may award damages to an applicant if the Court if of the opinion that an award of damages to the applicant is an appropriate additional remedy
  • Costs – At the determination of the Judicial Review Proceedings, the Court will decide whether the applicant is entitled to his/her legal costs.

Examples of where Judicial Review Applications are taken

Sinnott Solicitors have taken so many Judicial Review Applications over the years that it would be impossible to cite them all but below are some examples of the successful judicial review applications that our clients have brought before the High Court. We have brought judicial review cases before the High Court and continued to litigate those cases before the Court of Appeal, The Supreme Court and the European Court of Justice.

  • Citizenship / Naturalisation cases – Judicial Review

Many of our client’s awaiting a decision for citizenship for an excessive period of time have had their applications finalised by bringing judicial review proceedings. Also many of our client’s whose applications for Citizenship/ Naturalisation  were unlawfully refused by the Minister have had those decisions overturned by the High Court.

  • Family Reunification – Judicial Review

The High Court granted our client An order of certiorari quashing the decision of the Minister under Regulation 25(4) of the European Union (Subsidiary Protection) Regulations 2013 (S.I. No. 426 of 2013) refusing the applicant’s application for permission to be granted to his family members to enter and reside in the State. Many of our clients have brought successful judicial review applications in the area of family reunification

  • EU Treaty Rights cases – Judicial Review

Many of our client’s awaiting a decision for a permanent residence card or a Review for an excessive period of time have had their applications finalised by bringing judicial review proceeding. Many of our client’s whose applications for Residence Cards, review applications and Retention of residence card applications were unlawfully refused by the Minister have had those decisions overturned by the High Court

  • Visa Refusals -Judicial Review

Many of our client’s awaiting a decision for a Visa long stay or short for an excessive period of time have had their applications finalised by bringing judicial review proceeding. Many of our client’s whose Visa Appeals were unlawfully refused by the Minister have had those decisions overturned by the High Court.

  • International protection refusals – Judicial Review

Many of our client’s awaiting a decision for International Protection for an excessive period of time have had their applications finalised by bringing judicial review proceeding. Also many of our client’s whose applications for International protection  were unlawfully refused by the Minister have had those decisions overturned by the High Court. 

  • Employment Permit Refusals – Judicial Review

Many of our client’s whose applications for International protection  were unlawfully refused by the Minister have had those decisions overturned by the High Court.

If you have any queries regarding a decision that you have received or expect to receive where Judicial Review may be an appropriate remedy, please feel free to contact Sinnott Solicitors at info@sinnott.ie or at 014062962 and one of our Leaving Cert Solicitors will be happy to speak with you.

Contact Sinnott Solicitors Today

We have Leaving Cert Solicitors specialising in Leaving Cert legal challenges, Leaving Cert legal advice & all Leaving Cert legal action.

Schedule a Callback