حوادث السير

تعد مطالبات الإصابات الشخصية الناجمة عن حوادث المرور هي النوع الأكثر شيوعًا من دعاوى الإصابة ، ويتم دفع أكبر نسبة من التعويضات المدفوعة كل عام لأولئك الأشخاص المصابين

أنواع الحوادث

يتورط العديد من المطالبين في حوادث تتعلق بالسائقين غير المؤمن عليهم. في الحالات التي يكون فيها السائق غير مؤمن عليه أو لا يمكن تحديد هويته ، فلن يكون أمام المدعي خيار آخر سوى متابعة مطالبته من خلال مكتب تأمين السيارات في أيرلندا. المطالبة عبارة عن عملية من مستويين حيث سيُطلب من محاميك التعامل مع مجلس الإصابات ومكتب تأمين السيارات في أيرلندا. تأسس مكتب تأمين السيارات في أيرلندا في عام 1955 بين الحكومة والشركات التي تتعهد بالتأمين على السيارات بغرض تعويض ضحايا حوادث المرور على الطرق التي تسببها مركبات غير مؤمنة أو غير محددة الهوية. يتمثل دور مكتب التأمين على السيارات في تعويض ضحايا حوادث المرور التي تسببها المركبات غير المؤمنة والمجهولة الهوية. المدعي الذي يرفع دعوى من خلال مكتب تأمين السيارات في أيرلندا سوف يتلقى تعويضات لا تقل عن تعويض المدعي الذي تعرض لحادث مع سائق مؤمن عليه.

سيُطلب من محاميك أن يأخذك من خلال تعليمات محددة من أجل إكمال نموذج إشعار المطالبة إلى مكتب تأمين السيارات في أيرلندا. يتم تقديم المطالبة أيضًا إلى مجلس الإصابات من أجل متابعة مطالبة تعويض الإصابات الشخصية للمدعي. بالإضافة إلى التعويض عن الإصابات الشخصية ، يحق للمدعي أيضًا الحصول على تعويض عن الإصابات النفسية إن أمكن. يحق للمدعي أيضًا المطالبة بتعويضات خاصة عن أي نفقات من جيبه ، وخسارة في الأرباح ، ويحق للمدعي المطالبة بتكاليفه القانونية كجزء من المطالبة.

إذا كان المدعي متورطًا في حادث مع سائق غير مؤمن عليه ، فمن أجل المضي قدمًا من خلال مكتب تأمين السيارات في أيرلندا ، هناك شروط يجب الوفاء بها أولاً. يجب أن يكون المدعي متاحًا لإجراء مقابلة مع وكيل معتمد من MIBI. يحق للمدعي أن يكون محامي المدعي حاضرًا في المقابلة. يجب أن يكون لدى المدعي عدد من التفاصيل لتسليمها على النحو التالي: -

  1. اسم المدعي وتاريخ الميلاد ورقم PPS وعنوانه
  2. رقم التسجيل ونوع المركبة غير المؤمن عليها ونوعها (إن أمكن)
  3. تفاصيل من محطة جاردا حيث تم الإبلاغ عن حادث مروري
  4. سبب اعتبار المدعي السيارة غير مؤمن عليها
  5. تاريخ ووقت الحادث
  6. مكان الحادث
  7. وصف موجز للحادث

إلى حد بعيد ، ينشأ أكبر عدد من مطالبات الإصابة مع مجلس الإصابات من حوادث السيارات حيث يطالب المدعي بالتعويض عن الإصابات الشخصية نتيجة حادث السيارة. سواء كان المدعي سائقًا أو راكبًا للدراجات أو راكبًا للدراجات ، إذا أصيب المدعي بمركبة أخرى وتعرض لإصابات نتيجة لذلك ، فيحق للمدعي المطالبة بالتعويض عن الإصابات الشخصية.

هناك أمور معينة يجب مراعاتها عند تعرضك لحادث سير وهي كالتالي: -

  1. إذا أمكن ، تحدث إلى أولئك الذين شهدوا الحادث وخذ تفاصيلهم
  2. اتصل بـ Gardai لحضور مكان الحادث لأنه قد يكون من الضروري البحث عن تقرير Garda Abstract لدعم المطالبة بالإصابة
  3. يجب على المدعي أن يطلب المشورة الطبية في أقرب وقت ممكن بعد وقوع الحادث حيث سيُطلب من المدعي حضور طبيبه أو استشاريه لأغراض الحصول على تقرير طبي لتقديمه إلى مجلس الإصابات مع مطالبة الإصابة الشخصية
  4. يجب على المدعي أن يوجه محاميه من أجل تقديم طلب إلى مجلس الإصابات فيما يتعلق بمطالبة تعويض حوادث السيارات
  5. سيقوم محامي المدعي بعد ذلك بإعداد طلب لمجلس الإصابات ، والتعامل مع شركة تأمين المدعى عليه ، وأخذ جميع التفاصيل اللازمة من المدعي لتقديم المطالبة.

يمكن للمدعي المطالبة بالتعويض التالي نتيجة حادث سيارة: -

  1. التعويض عن الإصابات الشخصية
  2. التعويض عن الإصابات النفسية (إن وجد)
  3. استرداد جميع النفقات من الجيب فيما يتعلق بمطالبة حادث السيارة مثل فقدان الدخل ورسوم التقارير الطبية والأدوية وما إلى ذلك
  4. التعويض عن الأضرار المادية التي لحقت بسيارة المدعي (إن وجد)

المتورطون في حوادث الدراجات النارية هم أكثر عرضة للخطر من أولئك الذين يسافرون في سيارة. تميل الإصابات الناتجة عن حوادث الدراجات النارية إلى أن تكون أكثر خطورة بكثير من الإصابات الناجمة عن حوادث السيارات. تعتبر العظام المكسورة والكسور المتعددة وإصابات الظهر والرقبة من السمات الشائعة لحوادث الدراجات النارية. يحق للمدعي المتورط في حادث دراجة نارية ليس من خطأ المدعي المطالبة بالتعويض عن الإصابات الشخصية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يحق للمدعي المطالبة بتعويض عن الإصابات النفسية إذا كان ذلك ممكنًا ويحق للمدعي أيضًا المطالبة بأي نفقات من جيبه تكبدها المدعي نتيجة للحادث. على سبيل المثال ، قد يكون لدى المدعي مطالبة بخسارة في الأرباح ، وضرر مادي لمطالبة صاحب المطالبة بالمركبة ، ونفقات الأدوية وأي نفقات أخرى ناشئة عن الحادث.

من أجل الشروع في مطالبة تعويض الإصابات الشخصية نتيجة لحادث دراجة نارية ، سيُطلب من المدعي متابعة هذه المطالبة من خلال مجلس الإصابات. يتمتع محامو Sinnott بخبرة كبيرة في التعامل مع المدعين المتورطين في حوادث الدراجات النارية. من المهم أن يقوم المدعي بإرشاد محاميه على الفور حتى يمكن توجيه المدعي خلال العملية ويمكن لمحامي المدعي إعداد الطلب لتقديمه إلى مجلس الإصابات.

يجب على المدعي المتورط في حادث دراجة نارية أن يحضر الأمور الأولية التالية من أجل متابعة مطالبة الإصابات الشخصية: -

  1. الحصول على الفور على تفاصيل السائق الآخر عن الحادث ومركبتهم وبيانات التأمين الخاصة بهم
  2. اتصل بـ Gardai واطلب من Gardai حضور مكان الحادث حيث قد يكون تقرير Garda Abstract Report مطلوبًا للمساعدة في المطالبة
  3. إذا كان هناك شهود على الحادث ، يجب على المدعي أن يأخذ تفاصيل هؤلاء الشهود
  4. يجب على صاحب المطالبة التماس العناية الطبية على الفور والاحتفاظ بجميع سجلات الأطباء الحاضرين
  5. يجب على المدعي الاحتفاظ بجميع الإيصالات المتعلقة بالحضور الطبي والوصفات الطبية والأدوية
  6. يجب على المدعي أن يوجه محاميهم الذي سيقوم بإعداد المطالبة للتسكين مع مجلس الإصابات.

إذا كان المدعي قد تورط في حادث مشاة لم يكن خطأ المدعي ، فيحق للمدعي تقديم مطالبة تعويض عن الإصابة الشخصية. تحدث حوادث المشاة بشكل شائع. بعض الادعاءات أقوى بكثير من غيرها. على سبيل المثال ، إذا سقط أحد المشاة على رصيف أو عند معبر مشاة ، فمن المحتمل أن يكون لدى المدعي مطالبة قوية جدًا بتعويض الإصابات الشخصية. إذا تبين أن سائق السيارة التي اصطدمت بالمشاة كان مسرعًا وقت وقوع الاصطدام ، فقد يكون السائق هو السبب في وقوع الحادث حتى لو كان المشاة قد خرج من أمام السيارة.

وجدنا أن المدعين الذين تورطوا في حوادث المشاة يتعرضون بشكل عام لإصابات خطيرة بسبب ضعف المشاة عند تأثرهم بالمركبة. إذا كان المدعي قد تورط في حادث مشاة ، فمن المهم اتخاذ الخطوات التالية من أجل الشروع في إجراء إصابات شخصية للحصول على تعويض: -

  1. الحصول على الفور على بيانات سائق المركبة وبيانات تأمين السائق
  2. اتصل بـ Gardai على الفور واطلب من Gardai حضور مكان الحادث حيث قد يطلب المحامي الخاص بك تقرير Garda Abstract Report لتعزيز مطالبتك بالإصابات الشخصية
  3. إذا كان هناك أي شهود على الحادث ، يجب أن تأخذ تفاصيل هؤلاء الشهود
  4. يجب عليك طلب العناية الطبية على الفور والاحتفاظ بجميع سجلات الأطباء الذين تحضرهم
  5. احتفظ بجميع الإيصالات المتعلقة بالحضور الطبي والوصفات الطبية والأدوية
  6. قم بإرشاد المحامي الخاص بك الذي سيقوم بإعداد مطالبتك للسكن لدى مجلس الإصابات

إذا كنت من المشاة وأصيبت في حادث ، فيحق لك المطالبة بالتعويض عن إصاباتك الجسدية و / أو النفسية التي تعرضت لها. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يحق لك أيضًا المطالبة بأي نفقات من جيبك مثل النفقات الطبية والوصفات الطبية وما إلى ذلك. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، قد يحق لك المطالبة بخسارة الأرباح إذا كنت عاطلاً عن العمل نتيجة للحادث.

يمكن أن تحدث حوادث ركوب الدراجات بعدة طرق. من خلال تجربتنا ، وجدنا أن أولئك الذين شاركوا في حوادث ركوب الدراجات بشكل عام يعانون من إصابات خطيرة. هذا بسبب ضعف الدراج عند اصطدامه بسيارة. كما نجد أيضًا أن راكبي الدراجات الذين تعرضوا لحوادث ركوب الدراجات قد يتعرضون أيضًا لصدمات نفسية بسبب الحادث ، وبالتالي يحق لهم رفع دعوى تعويض عن إصاباتهم النفسية بالإضافة إلى متابعة المطالبة بالتعويض عن الإصابات الجسدية.

يجب تقديم كل مطالبة تتعلق بحادث ركوب الدراجات أولاً إلى مجلس الإصابات. سيكون محامو Sinnott في وضع يمكنهم من مساعدة أي مطالب في تقديم هذا الطلب ومساعدة المدعي في تحقيق أقصى تعويض متاح.

على راكب الدراجة الذي تعرض لحادث أن يتخذ الإجراءات التمهيدية التالية: -

  1. الحصول على الفور على بيانات سائق المركبة وبيانات تأمين السائق
  2. اتصل بـ Gardai على الفور واطلب من Gardai حضور مكان الحادث حيث قد يطلب المحامي الخاص بك تقرير Garda Abstract Report لتعزيز مطالبتك بالإصابات الشخصية
  3. إذا كان هناك أي شهود على الحادث ، يجب أن تأخذ تفاصيل هؤلاء الشهود
  4. يجب عليك طلب العناية الطبية على الفور والاحتفاظ بجميع سجلات الأطباء الذين تحضرهم
  5. احتفظ بجميع الإيصالات المتعلقة بالحضور الطبي والوصفات الطبية والأدوية
  6. قم بإرشاد المحامي الخاص بك الذي سيقوم بإعداد مطالبتك للسكن لدى مجلس الإصابات

بالإضافة إلى المطالبة بالتعويض عن الإصابات الجسدية والنفسية ، يجوز للمدعي أيضًا رفع مطالبة بالتعويض عن خسارة الأرباح إذا كان المدعي غير قادر على العمل نتيجة لحادث ركوب الدراجات. يمكن للمدعي أيضًا المطالبة بأي نفقات نثرية يتم تكبدها مثل نفقات الأدوية والوصفات الطبية وتمويل التقارير الطبية.

تعامل محامو Sinnott مع العديد من المطالبين الذين تورطوا في حوادث الحافلات على مر السنين. يمكن أن تحدث حوادث الحافلات بعدة طرق مختلفة من التعثر أو السقوط أثناء ركوب الحافلة إلى التورط في الاصطدام بالحافلة. وجدنا أن المدعين الذين صدمتهم الحافلة يعانون بشكل عام من إصابات خطيرة للغاية. هذا بسبب ضعف المدعي عندما تتأثر بالسيارة.

يحق للمدعي المتورط في حادث حافلة تقديم طلب للحصول على تعويض عن الإصابات الشخصية إلى مجلس الإصابات. يمكن أن يساعد محامو Sinnott المدعي في تقديم هذا الطلب. يحق لأصحاب المطالبات الذين تورطوا في حوادث الحافلات المطالبة بالتعويض عن إصاباتهم الجسدية أو النفسية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يحق للمطالبين أيضًا تقديم مطالبة عن أي خسارة في الأرباح إذا كان المدعي عاطلاً عن العمل نتيجة للحادث. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يحق للمدعي المطالبة بجميع النفقات من جيبه المتكبدة نتيجة للحادث مثل الأدوية والوصفات الطبية ورسوم التقارير الطبية وأي نفقات أخرى من جيبه.

إذا تعرض المدعي لحادث حافلة ، يجب على المدعي اتخاذ الإجراءات التحضيرية التالية: -

  1. يجب على المدعي جمع أكبر قدر ممكن من الأدلة بما في ذلك تفاصيل أي شهود على الحادث والاسم والعناوين وأرقام هواتف الاتصال
  2. يجب على صاحب المطالبة ، إن أمكن ، الحصول على رقم تسجيل الحافلة ووجهة الحافلة وتفاصيل سائق الحافلة
  3. يجب على المدعي أن يأخذ ملاحظات دقيقة عن مكان وقوع الحادث لأنه قد يكون من الضروري الحصول على لقطات كاميرا مراقبة إذا كانت متوفرة من السلطة المحلية / مجلس المدينة
  4. يجب على المدعي أيضًا ملاحظة وقت وقوع الحادث حتى يتمكن محامي المدعي من طلب لقطات CCTV من الحافلة. في الوقت الحاضر ، تتوفر لقطات CCTV بشكل عام من جميع مركبات النقل العام.

إذا كنت قد تعرضت لحادث حافلة ، فإن شركة Sinnott Solicitors ستكون في وضع يمكنها من مساعدتك في رفع دعوى تعويض الإصابات الشخصية نيابة عنك.

لقد صادفنا العديد من المطالبين الذين تعرضوا لحادث أثناء السفر في سيارة أجرة. إنه حدث شائع جدًا خاصة في جميع أنحاء المدينة. إذا تعرضت لحادث بسيارة أجرة أو أثناء السفر في سيارة أجرة وتعرضت لإصابات شخصية نتيجة لذلك ، فيحق لك المطالبة بالتعويض عن الإصابات التي تعرضت لها. قد يحق لك المطالبة بالتعويض عن إصاباتك الجسدية و / أو النفسية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يمكن للمدعي أيضًا تقديم مطالبة بالتعويض عن خسارة الأرباح إذا كان المدعي عاطلاً عن العمل نتيجة للحادث. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يحق للمدعي متابعة المطالبة بأي نفقات من جيبه مثل الأدوية أو النفقات الأخرى المتكبدة نتيجة للحادث. يحق للمدعي أيضًا المطالبة بأي تقارير طبية أو تقارير الخبراء المدفوعة من قبل المدعي أثناء المحكمة في مطالبة الحادث.

إذا تعرضت لحادث سيارة أجرة ، فعليك اتخاذ الإجراءات التحضيرية التالية: -

  1. بيانات سائق التاكسي وتسجيل المركبة ورقم عضوية سائق التاكسي
  2. تفاصيل أي سائقين آخرين مسؤولين عن الحادث
  3. تفاصيل تأمين سائق التاكسي للمركبة
  4. الأسماء والعناوين وبيانات المركبة وبيانات التأمين للمركبات الأخرى التي كانت طرفاً في الحادث
  5. إذا كان هناك أي شهود على الحادث ، فيجب عليك الحصول على اسم وعنوان وتفاصيل الاتصال الخاصة بأي شهود
  6. يجب عليك طلب المشورة الطبية في أقرب وقت ممكن بعد وقوع الحادث حتى يمكن تسجيل تقييم مفصل لإصاباتك
  7. يجب عليك التحدث إلى محاميك بهدف توجيه محاميك لتقديم مطالبة إلى مجلس الإصابات نيابة عنك
  8. يجب أن تحتفظ بجميع الإيصالات فيما يتعلق بالنفقات الطبية ونفقات الجيب المتعلقة بالحادث

أصبحت حوادث القطارات والترام شائعة الآن في أيرلندا. لقد وجدنا أن أصحاب المطالبات الذين أصيبوا نتيجة لحوادث القطار أو الترام بشكل عام يعانون من إصابات كبيرة. لقد وجدنا أيضًا أن حوادث القطارات يمكن أن تحدث بعدة طرق مختلفة وأن هذه الحوادث لا تحدث بالضرورة بسبب الاصطدام مع القطار نفسه ولكن بالأحرى بسبب ظروف مثل الأشياء الموجودة في القطارات التي تسبب خطرًا ، والأرضيات الرطبة ، والحوادث التي تنطوي على أخرى. الركاب أو الموظفين ومجموعة متنوعة من الظروف الأخرى.

على سبيل المثال ، صادفنا مطالبات رأي حيث كان عملاؤنا يغادرون القطار عندما سقطوا بين القطار والمنصة مما تسبب في إصابة خطيرة واضطراب نفسي. لقد حدث هذا في عدد من المناسبات.

إذا كان المدعي قد تورط في حادث في قطار أو تورط في قطار دون خطأ من المدعي ، فقد يحق للمدعي رفع دعوى تعويض عن الإصابات الشخصية للمدعي. قد يشمل هذا أيضًا مطالبة بالتعويض عن إصابات نفسية اعتمادًا على طبيعة الإصابات وظروف حادث القطار.

إذا كنت متورطًا في حادث قطار في المتوسط ، فيجب عليك اتخاذ الإجراءات التحضيرية التالية: -

  1. اطلب العناية الطبية في أقرب وقت ممكن حتى يمكن تسجيل إصاباتك بالكامل لأغراض مطالبتك
  2. قم بأخذ ملاحظة مفصلة قدر الإمكان عن الحادث لتشمل موقع الحادث في القطار والطريقة التي وقع بها الحادث
  3. أبلغ عن الأمر إلى السلطة المختصة. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كنت مسافرًا على متن شركة Irish Rail ، فيجب إبلاغ شركة Irish Rail بالأمر. إذا كنت مسافرًا على متن أحد أنواع السفن ، فيجب إبلاغ سلطات Luas Transdev بهذا الأمر
  4. إذا كان هناك شهود على الحادث ، فعليك أخذ تفاصيل هؤلاء الشهود وتفاصيل هواتفهم والاتصال بهم
  5. يجب عليك التحدث إلى محاميك في أقرب وقت ممكن لإصدار تعليمات لمحاميك لتقديم مطالبة إلى مجلس الإصابات فيما يتعلق بإصاباتك
  6. قد يطلب المحامي الخاص بك لقطات CCTV من القطار أو يطلب من السلطة المختصة للحفاظ على لقطات CCTV للحادث من أجل المساعدة في المطالبة

لسوء الحظ ، أصبحت الوفيات على الطرق شائعة في أيرلندا ومثل هذه الوفيات آخذة في الازدياد. لا يمكن للتعويض أبدًا أن يعوض الشخص عن فقدان أحد أفراد أسرته. ومع ذلك ، يمكن أن تقطع جزءًا صغيرًا من الطريق لتخفيف الأعباء المالية المرتبطة بالإصابات القاتلة خاصة في الظروف التي يكون فيها الشخص المتوفى لديه أفراد أسرة معالون مما يؤدي إلى فقدان دخل المعالين.

تنشأ مطالبات الإصابات القاتلة الأكثر شيوعًا نتيجة حوادث المرور على الطرق. ثاني أكثر مطالبات الإصابات القاتلة شيوعًا هي تلك التي تنطوي على إصابات قاتلة تحدث في مكان العمل.

أنواع الأضرار التي يمكن استردادها في مطالبة الإصابات القاتلة

يتم تحديد أنواع الأضرار التي يمكن استردادها في مطالبات تعويض الإصابات المميتة على الأسس التالية: -

  1. الأضرار الخاصة الناشئة عن الوفاة لتغطية نفقات الجنازة ونفقات الجيب
  2. فقدان التبعية
  3. الاضطراب العاطفي

يتم رفع دعوى فقدان الإعالة بشكل عام من قبل الزوج أو الزوجة أو الشريك المدني لأحد أفراد الأسرة المباشرين. غالبًا ما يتم إحضاره من قبل طفل المتوفى من قبل صديقه / والديه التاليين. سيتم أخذ عدد من العوامل في الاعتبار عند تحديد مطالبة فقدان الإعالة مثل دخل المتوفى في وقت وفاته ونفقاته.

عند التعامل مع فقدان التبعية في مطالبات الحوادث المميتة ، فإننا دائمًا ما نوظف خبيرًا اكتواريًا لتقديم الأدلة أمام المحكمة لدعم مطالبة بالتعويض عن خسارة الأرباح. تنظر المحكمة أيضًا في أطفال المتوفى وخاصة الأطفال القصر الذين كانوا يعتمدون كليًا على المتوفى.

التعويض عن الاضطراب العاطفي

هناك حد قانوني قدره 35000 يورو للتعويض عن الاضطرابات النفسية في حالة مطالبات الإصابات القاتلة. بموجب قانون المسؤولية المدنية ، يتم تقسيم هذا المبلغ بين جميع المعالين القانونيين للمتوفى. بغض النظر عن عدد الأقارب المعالين ، هناك مبلغ قانوني واحد فقط قدره 35000 يورو متاح.

مطالبات الإصابات القاتلة في مكان العمل والمطالبات بإصابات قاتلة على الطرق

سواء كانت الإصابة القاتلة ناتجة عن حادث في مكان العمل أو نتيجة لحادث مروري ، فإنه لا يوجد فرق في استحقاق مبلغ التعويض المطالب به. لسوء الحظ ، تعاملت شركة Sinnott Solicitors مع مطالبات الحوادث القاتلة في كلا السيناريوهين وبغض النظر عن كيفية وقوع الحادث ، يظل إعداد المطالبة كما هو. من الضروري إثبات أن الحادث لم يكن خطأ المتوفى.

احصل على التعويض الذي تستحقه

ابدأ مطالبتك
جدولة مكالمة

Road Traffic Accidents

Road traffic personal injury claims are the most common type of injury claim and the largest proportion of compensation paid out every year is paid to those persons injured

Types of Accident

Many Claimants are involved in accidents that concern uninsured drivers.  In cases where a driver is not insured or cannot be identified, then a Claimant will have no other option but to pursue their claim through the Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland.  The claim is a two tier process where your Solicitor will be required to deal with the Injuries Board and the Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland.  The Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland was established in 1955 between the government and companies underwriting motor insurance for the purpose of compensating victims of road traffic accidents caused by uninsured or unidentified vehicles.  The role of the Motor Insurers’ Bureau is to compensate victims of road traffic accidents caused by uninsured and unidentified vehicles.  A Claimant that pursues a claim through the Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland will receive no less compensation than a Claimant who has been involved in an accident with an insured driver.

Your Solicitor will be required to take you through specific instructions in order to complete the claim notification form to the Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland.  The claim is also submitted to the Injuries Board in order to pursue a claim for personal injuries compensation for the Claimant.  In addition to compensation for personal injuries, a Claimant would also be entitled to compensation for psychological injuries if applicable.  The Claimant would also be entitled to claim for special damages for any out of pocket expenditure, loss of earnings and the Claimant would be entitled to claim their legal costs as part of the claim.

If a Claimant is involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, in order to proceed through the Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland there are conditions that firstly must be satisfied.  The Claimant must make themselves available for an interview by an authorised agent of the MIBI.  The Claimant has a right to have the Claimant’s Solicitor present at the interview.  The Claimant must have a number of details to hand as follows:-

  1. The Claimant’s name, date of birth, PPS number and address
  2. Registration number, type and make of the uninsured vehicle (if possible)
  3. The details of the Garda Station where the road traffic accident was reported
  4. The reason why the Claimant considers the car to be uninsured
  5. The date and time of the accident
  6. The place of the accident
  7. A brief description of the accident

By far the largest number of injury claims with the Injuries Board arise from car accidents where the Claimant claims compensation for personal injuries as a result of the car accident.  Whether the Claimant is a driver, motor cyclist or a cyclist, if the Claimant is struck by another vehicle and suffers injuries as a result, then the Claimant is entitled to claim compensation for personal injuries.

There are certain matters which must be attended to when you have a car accident as follows:-

  1. If possible speak to those who witnessed the accident and take their details
  2. Call the Gardai to attend the scene of the accident because it may be necessary to look for a Garda Abstract Report to support the injury claim
  3. The Claimant should seek medical advice as soon as possible after the accident as the Claimant will be required to attend their doctor or consultant for the purposes of obtaining a medical report in order to submit to the Injuries Board with the personal injury claim
  4. The Claimant should instruct their Solicitor with a view to making an application to the Injuries Board in connection with the car accident compensation claim
  5. The Claimant’s Solicitor will then prepare the application for the Injuries Board, deal with the Defendant’s insurance company and take all necessary details from the Claimant in order to lodge the claim.

A Claimant can claim the following compensation as a result of a car accident:-

  1. Compensation for personal injuries
  2. Compensation for psychological injuries (if applicable)
  3. A refund of all out of pocket expenditure in connection with the car accident claim such as loss of income, fees for medical reports, medication and so on
  4. Compensation for material damage to the Claimant’s vehicle (if applicable)

Those involved in motor cycle accidents are far more vulnerable than those who are travelling in a car.  Injuries sustained as a result of motor cycle accidents tend to be far more serious than injuries sustained from car accidents.  Broken bones, multiple fractures and severe back and neck injuries are common features of motor cycle accidents.  A Claimant involved in a motor cycle accident which is not the Claimant’s fault is entitled to seek compensation for personal injuries.  In addition, the Claimant is entitled to seek compensation for psychological injuries if applicable and the Claimant is also entitled to claim any out of pocket expenses that the Claimant has incurred as a result of the accident.  For example, the Claimant may have a loss of earnings claim, a material damage to the Claimant’s vehicle claim, expenditure for medication and any other expenditure arising as a result of the accident.

In order to initiate a personal injuries compensation claim as a result of a motor cycle accident, the Claimant would be required to pursue that claim through the Injuries Board.  Sinnott Solicitors have a wealth of experience in dealing with Claimants involved in motor cycle accidents.  It is important that a Claimant instructs their Solicitor promptly so that the Claimant can be guided through the process and that the Claimant’s Solicitor can prepare the application for submission to the Injuries Board.

A Claimant involved in a motor cycle accident should attend to the following preliminary matters in order to proceed with a personal injuries claim:-

  1. Immediately obtain details of the other driver to the accident, their vehicle and their insurance details
  2. Contact the Gardai and ask the Gardai to attend the scene of the accident as a Garda Abstract Report may be required in order to assist with the claim
  3. If there are witnesses to the accident, the Claimant should take details of those witnesses
  4. The Claimant should immediately seek medical attention and retain all records of doctors attending
  5. The Claimant should retain all receipts in respect of medical attendances and prescriptions and medication
  6. The Claimant should instruct their Solicitor who will prepare the claim for lodging with the Injuries Board.

If a Claimant has been involved in a pedestrian accident which was not the fault of the Claimant, then the Claimant is entitled to make a personal injury compensation claim.  Pedestrian accidents commonly occur.  Some claims are a lot stronger than others.  For example, if a pedestrian is knocked down on a pavement or at a pedestrian crossing, then the Claimant is likely to have a very strong claim for personal injuries compensation.  If it transpires that the driver of a vehicle that hit the pedestrian was speeding at the time of the impact, then the driver may well be the cause of the accident even if the pedestrian has walked out in front of the vehicle.

We find that Claimants who have been involved in pedestrian accidents are generally seriously injured because of the vulnerability of the pedestrian when impacted by the vehicle.  If a Claimant has been involved in a pedestrian accident then it is important to take the following steps in order to initiate a personal injures action for compensation:-

  1. Immediately obtain the details of the driver of the vehicle and the driver’s insurance details
  2. Contact the Gardai immediately and request the Gardai to attend the scene of the accident as your Solicitor may well require a Garda Abstract Report in furtherance of your personal injuries claim
  3. If there are any witnesses to the accident, you should take details of those witnesses
  4. You should immediately seek medical attention and retain all records of doctors that you attend
  5. Retain all receipts in respect of medical attendances, prescriptions and medication
  6. Instruct your Solicitor who will prepare your claim for lodging with the Injuries Board

If you are a pedestrian who has been injured in an accident, then you will be entitled to claim compensation for your physical and/or psychological injuries that you sustain.  In addition, you would also be entitled to claim for any out of pocket expenses such as medical expenses, prescription and so on.  In addition, you may well be entitled to claim loss of earnings if you have been out of work as a result of the accident.

Cycling accidents can happen in a number of ways.  In our experience, we find that those who have been involved in cycling accidents are generally seriously injured.  That is because of the vulnerability of the cyclist when impacted by a vehicle.  We also find that cyclists who have been involved in cycling accidents may also be traumatised psychologically by the accident and are therefore entitled to pursue a claim for their psychological injuries in addition to pursuing a claim for the physical injuries.

Every cycling accident claim must first be lodged with the Injuries Board.  Sinnott Solicitors would be in a position to assist any Claimant to make that application and to assist the Claimant to achieve the maximum compensation available.

A cyclist who has been involved in an accident should take the following preparatory measures:-

  1. Immediately obtain the details of the driver of the vehicle and the driver’s insurance details
  2. Contact the Gardai immediately and request the Gardai to attend the scene of the accident as your Solicitor may well require a Garda Abstract Report in furtherance of your personal injuries claim
  3. If there are any witnesses to the accident, you should take details of those witnesses
  4. You should immediately seek medical attention and retain all records of doctors that you attend
  5. Retain all receipts in respect of medical attendances, prescriptions and medication
  6. Instruct your Solicitor who will prepare your claim for lodging with the Injuries Board

In addition to taking a claim for compensation for physical and psychological injuries, a Claimant may also take a claim for loss of earnings if the Claimant was unable to work as a result of the cycling accident.  The Claimant can also take a claim for any out of pocket expenses incurred such as expenses for medication, prescriptions and financing of medical reports.

Sinnott Solicitors have dealt with numerous Claimants who have been involved in bus accidents over the years.  Bus accidents can occur in a number of different ways from tripping or falling whilst on a bus to being involved in a collision with a bus.  We find that Claimants who have been hit by a bus are generally very seriously injured.  That is because of the vulnerability of the Claimant when impacted by the vehicle.

A Claimant involved in a bus accident is entitled to make an application for compensation for personal injuries to the Injuries Board.  Sinnott Solicitors can assist a Claimant in making that application.  Claimants that have been involved in bus accidents are entitled to claim compensation for their physical and or psychological injuries.  In addition, Claimants would also be entitled to make a claim for any loss of earnings if the Claimant has been out of work as a result of the accident.  In addition, the Claimant would be entitled to claim for all out of pocket expenditure incurred as a result of the accident such as medication, prescription medication, fees for medical reports and any other out of pocket expenses.

If a claimant has been involved in a bus accident, the Claimant should take the following preparatory measures:-

  1. The Claimant should gather as much evidence as possible including the details of any witnesses to the accident, name and addresses and contact telephone numbers
  2. The Claimant should if possible, obtain the registration number of the bus, the destination of the bus and the details of the bus driver
  3. The Claimant should take careful note of where the accident occurred because it may be necessary to seek CCTV footage if available from the local authority/town council
  4. The Claimant should also note the time of the accident so that the Claimant’s Solicitor can request the CCTV footage from the bus.  Nowadays there is generally CCTV footage available from all public transport vehicles.

If you have been involved in a bus accident, Sinnott Solicitors would be in a position to assist you to make a personal injuries compensation claim on your behalf.

We come across many Claimants who have been involved in an accident whilst travelling in a taxi.  It is a very common occurrence particularly around the city.  If you have been involved in an accident with a taxi or whilst travelling in a taxi and sustained personal injuries as a result, then you will be entitled to make a claim for compensation for the injuries that you sustain.  You may be entitled to claim compensation for your physical and/or psychological injuries.  In addition, a Claimant can also make a claim for loss of earnings if the Claimant was out of work as a result of the accident.  In addition, the Claimant would be entitled to pursue a claim for any out of pocket expenditure such as medication or other expenditure incurred as a result of the accident.  The Claimant would also be entitled to claim for any medical reports or expert reports paid for by the Claimant during the court of the accident claim.

If you have been involved in a taxi accident, then you should take the following preparatory measures:-

  1. Details of the taxi driver, the registration of the vehicle and the membership number of the taxi driver
  2. Details of any other drivers responsible for the accident
  3. Insurance details of the taxi driver for the vehicle
  4. The names and addresses, vehicle details and insurance details for other vehicles which were party to the accident
  5. If there are any witnesses to the accident, you should obtain the name, address and contact details of any witnesses
  6. You should seek medical advice as soon as possible after the accident in order that a detailed assessment of your injuries can be recorded
  7. You should speak to your Solicitor with a view to instructing your solicitor to lodge a claim to the Injuries Board on your behalf
  8. You should retain all receipts in respect of medical and out of pocket expenditure in connection with the accident

Train and tram accidents are now commonplace in Ireland.  We have found that Claimants who have been injured as a result of train or tram accidents generally sustain significant injuries.  We have also found that train accidents can happen in a number of different ways and those accidents do not necessarily occur because of a collision with the train itself but rather from circumstances such as objects on trains which cause a hazard, wet floors, incidents involving other passengers or staff and a variety of other circumstances.

For example, we have come across a view claims where our clients were exiting a train when they fell down between the train and the platform causing significant injury and psychological upset.  This has happened on a number of occasions.

If a Claimant has been involved in an accident on a train or involving a train through no fault of the Claimant, then the Claimant may be entitled to pursue a claim for compensation for the claimant’s personal injuries.  This may well include a claim for psychological injuries depending upon the nature of the injuries and the circumstances of the train accident.

If you have aver been involved in a train accident, then you should take the following preparatory measures:-

  1. Seek medical attention as soon as possible in order that your injuries can be fully recorded for the purposes of your claim
  2. Take as detailed a note as possible of the accident to include the location of the accident on the train and the manner in which the accident happened
  3. Report the matter to the appropriate authority.  For example, if you are travelling with Irish Rail, the matter should be reported to Irish Rail.  If you are travelling on a Luas, then the matter should be reported to the Luas Authorities Transdev
  4. If there are witnesses to the accident, then you should take details of those witnesses and their telephone and contact details
  5. You should speak to your Solicitor as soon as possible in order to instruct your Solicitor to lodge a claim to the Injuries Board in respect of your Injuries
  6. Your Solicitor may request CCTV footage from the train or request the appropriate authority to preserve the CCTV footage of the accident in order to assist the claim

Unfortunately, road fatalities have become commonplace in Ireland and such fatalities are on the rise.  Compensation could never compensate a person for the loss of a loved one.  However, it can go a small part of the way to ease the financial burdens associated with fatal injuries particularly in circumstances where the deceased person had dependent family members resulting in a loss of income for the dependents.

The most common fatal injuries claims arise as a result of road traffic accidents.  The second most common fatal injuries claims are those involving fatal injuries that occur within the workplace.

Types of damages recoverable in fatal injuries claim

The types of damages recoverable in fatal injuries compensation claims are determined on the following basis:-

  1. Special damages arising from the death to cover funeral expenses and out of pocket expenses
  2. Loss of dependency
  3. Emotional distress

A loss of dependency claim is generally brought by a husband or wife or civil partner of the immediate family member.  It is often brought by a child of the deceased by his or her next friend/parent.  A number of factors will be taken into account in determining a loss of dependency claim such as the income of the deceased at the time of his or her death and their outgoings.

When dealing with loss of dependency in fatal accident claims, we always employ an expert Actuary in order to present evidence before the Court to support a claim for loss of earnings.  The Court also considers the children of the deceased and in particular any minor children who were completely dependent upon the deceased.

Compensation for emotional distress

There is a statutory limit of €35,000 for compensation for emotional distress in the case of fatal injuries claims.  Under the Civil Liability Act, that sum is divided between all of the statutory dependents of the deceased.  Regardless of the number of dependent relatives, there is only one statutory sum of €35,000 available.

Fatal injury claims in the workplace and fatal injury road traffic claims

Whether the fatal injury arises as a result of an accident in the workplace or as a result of a road traffic accident, it makes no difference to the entitlement of the amount of compensation claimed.  Unfortunately, Sinnott Solicitors have dealt with fatal accident claims in both scenarios and regardless of how the accident occurred, the preparation of the claim remains the same.  It is essential to prove that the accident was not the deceased’s fault.

Get The Compensation You Deserve

Start Your Claim
Schedule A Call