道路交通意外

道路交通人身伤害索赔是最常见的伤害索赔类型,每年支付给受伤者的补偿金比例最大。

事故类型

许多索赔人卷入了与未保险司机有关的事故。如果没有为驾驶员提供保险或无法识别驾驶员,那么索赔人别无选择,只能通过爱尔兰的汽车保险局提出索赔。索赔分为两个阶段,您的律师将需要与伤害委员会和爱尔兰汽车保险局打交道。爱尔兰汽车保险局成立于1955年,政府与承保汽车保险的公司之间的关系旨在赔偿因未保险或身份不明的车辆而导致的道路交通事故的受害者。汽车保险局的作用是赔偿因未保险和身份不明的车辆造成的道路交通事故的受害者。通过爱尔兰汽车保险局提出索赔的索赔人将获得不低于与被保险司机发生事故的索赔人的赔偿。

您的律师将被要求为您提供具体说明,以便向爱尔兰汽车保险局填写索赔通知表。索赔还提交给伤害委员会,以要求赔偿索赔人的人身伤害赔偿。除适用人身伤害赔偿外,索赔人还将有权获得心理伤害赔偿(如果适用)。索赔人还有权就任何自付费用,收入损失索赔特殊损失,索赔人也有权索赔其法律费用,作为索赔的一部分。

如果索赔人与未保险的司机发生事故,则要通过爱尔兰的汽车保险局必须首先满足一些条件。索赔人必须让MIBI的授权代理人可以接受采访。申诉人有权在访谈中邀请申诉人的律师出席。索赔人必须提供以下详细信息:

  1. 索赔人的姓名,出生日期,PPS号和地址
  2. 未投保车辆的登记号,类型和品牌(如果可能)
  3. 报告道路交通事故的加尔达站的详细信息
  4. 索赔人认为汽车没有保险的原因
  5. 事故发生的日期和时间
  6. 事故地点
  7. 事故的简要描述

到目前为止,伤害委员会提出的伤害索赔最多的是车祸,索赔人要求赔偿因车祸造成的人身伤害。无论索赔人是驾驶员,电单车司机还是骑自行车的人,如果索赔人被其他车辆撞到并因此而受伤,则索赔人有权要求赔偿人身伤害。

发生车祸时,必须注意以下事项:

  1. 如果可能,请与目击事故的人交谈,并详细说明
  2. 致电Gardai参加事故现场,因为可能有必要查找Garda摘要报告以支持伤害索赔
  3. 事故发生后,索赔人应尽快寻求医疗建议,因为要求索赔人去看医生或顾问以获取医疗报告,以便将人身伤害索赔提交给伤害委员会。
  4. 索赔人应指示其律师,以就车祸赔偿索赔向伤害委员会提出申请。
  5. 然后,索赔人的律师将为伤害委员会准备申请,与被告的保险公司打交道,并从索赔人那里获取所有必要的细节,以便提出索赔。

发生车祸,索赔人可以要求以下赔偿:

  1. 人身伤害赔偿
  2. 心理伤害赔偿(如果适用)
  3. 退还与车祸相关的所有自付费用,例如收入损失,医疗报告费,药物治疗等
  4. 赔偿索赔人车辆的物质损失(如果适用)

那些发生摩托车事故的人比那些开车旅行的人要脆弱得多。摩托车事故造成的伤害比起车祸造成的伤害要严重得多。骨折,多处骨折以及严重的背部和颈部受伤是摩托车事故的常见特征。涉及摩托车事故的索赔人(不是索赔人的过错)有权要求赔偿人身伤害。此外,索赔人有权要求赔偿精神伤害(如果适用),并且索赔人也有权要求赔偿因事故造成的任何自付费用。例如,索赔人可能有收入损失索赔,索赔人的车辆索赔遭受重大损失,药物支出以及由于事故导致的任何其他支出。

为了对摩托车事故提出人身伤害赔偿索赔,要求索赔人通过伤害委员会提出索赔。 Sinnott律师在处理与摩托车事故有关的索赔人方面具有丰富的经验。重要的是,索赔人应及时指示其律师,以便可以指导索赔人进行整个流程,并且索赔人的律师可以准备将其提交损伤委员会的申请。

涉及摩托车事故的索赔人应注意以下初步事项,以便进行人身伤害索赔:

  1. 立即获取发生事故的其他驾驶员的详细信息,其车辆和保险详细信息
  2. 联系Gardai并要求Gardai参加事故现场,因为可能需要Garda摘要报告以协助索赔
  3. 如果有事故的证人,索赔人应详细说明这些证人
  4. 索赔人应立即就医,并保留所有就诊医生的记录
  5. 索赔人应保留所有有关医疗出诊,处方和药物的收据
  6. 索赔人应指示其律师准备将索赔提交给伤害委员会。

如果索赔人曾发生过行人交通事故,而这并非索赔人的过错,则该索赔人有权提出人身伤害赔偿要求。行人交通事故经常发生。有些主张比其他主张强得多。例如,如果行人在人行道或人行横道上被撞倒,则索赔人可能会提出非常强烈的人身伤害赔偿要求。如果发现撞上行人的车辆驾驶员在撞击时正在超速行驶,那么即使行人在车辆前走了出来,驾驶员也很可能是造成事故的原因。

我们发现,涉及行人事故的索赔人通常会受到行人在车辆撞击时的脆弱性的严重伤害。如果索赔人发生了行人交通事故,那么必须采取以下步骤,以便发起人身伤害赔偿诉讼:

  1. 立即获取车辆驾驶员的详细信息和驾驶员的保险详细信息
  2. 立即与Gardai联系,并要求Gardai参加事故现场,因为您的律师很可能需要Garda摘要报告来促进您的人身伤害索赔
  3. 如果发生事故的任何证人,您应该详细了解这些证人
  4. 您应该立即就医,并保留所有就诊医生的记录
  5. 保留所有有关医疗出诊,处方和药物的收据
  6. 指示您的律师准备为您向伤害委员会提出的住宿要求

如果您是一名在意外中受伤的行人,那么您将有权就自己遭受的身体和/或心理伤害索赔。此外,您还有权要求任何自付费用,例如医疗费,处方费等。此外,如果您因事故而失业,您很可能有权要求赔偿收入损失。

骑车事故可以通过多种方式发生。根据我们的经验,发现骑自行车事故的人通常受到严重伤害。那是因为骑车人在受到车辆撞击时容易受到伤害。我们还发现,参与自行车事故的骑自行车者也可能在心理上受到事故的伤害,因此除了对人身伤害提出索赔外,他们还有权对他们的心理伤害提出索赔。

每个自行车意外索赔必须首先提交伤害委员会。 Sinnott律师将能够协助任何索赔人提出该申请,并协助索赔人获得最大的赔偿。

发生意外的骑单车人士应采取以下准备措施:

  1. 立即获取车辆驾驶员的详细信息和驾驶员的保险详细信息
  2. 立即与Gardai联系,并要求Gardai参加事故现场,因为您的律师很可能需要Garda摘要报告来促进您的人身伤害索赔
  3. 如果发生事故的任何证人,您应该详细了解这些证人
  4. 您应该立即就医,并保留所有就诊医生的记录
  5. 保留所有有关医疗出诊,处方和药物的收据
  6. 指示您的律师准备为您向伤害委员会提出的住宿要求

除了索赔人身和心理伤害之外,如果索赔人由于自行车事故而无法工作,索赔人还可以索赔收入损失。索赔人还可以就产生的任何自付费用提出索赔,例如药物,处方和医疗报告的费用。

多年来,Sinnott律师已经处理了许多涉及公交车事故的索赔人。公交车事故有多种发生方式,从在公交车上绊倒或摔倒到卷入与公交车的碰撞中。我们发现,被公共汽车撞到的索赔人通常受到严重伤害。那是因为索赔人在受到车辆影响时容易受到伤害。

发生公交车事故的索赔人有权向伤害委员会提出人身伤害赔偿申请。 Sinnott律师可以协助索赔人提出该申请。发生公交车事故的索赔人有权要求赔偿他们的身体和心理伤害。此外,如果索赔人因事故而失业,索赔人也有权要求赔偿任何收入损失。此外,索赔人有权要求赔偿因事故造成的全部自付费用,例如药物,处方药,医疗报告费以及任何其他自付费用。

如申索人曾发生巴士意外,申索人应采取以下准备措施:

  1. 索赔人应收集尽可能多的证据,包括事故证人的详细信息,姓名和地址以及联系电话
  2. 索赔人应尽可能获得公交车的登记号,公交车的目的地以及公交车司机的详细信息
  3. 索赔人应仔细记录事故发生的地点,因为如果有地方当局/镇议会的帮助,可能有必要寻找闭路电视录像
  4. 索赔人还应记下事故发生的时间,以便索赔人的律师可以从公交车上请求闭路电视录像。如今,通常所有公共交通工具都可提供CCTV录像。

如果您发生了公交车事故,Sinnott律师将可以协助您为您提出人身伤害索赔。

我们遇到许多索赔人,他们在乘坐出租车旅行时发生了事故。这是非常普遍的现象,尤其是在城市周围。如果您在出租车上或乘出租车时发生事故,因此而遭受了人身伤害,那么您将有权要求赔偿所遭受的伤害。您可能有权要求赔偿您的身体和/或心理伤害。此外,如果索赔人由于事故而失业,索赔人也可以要求赔偿收入损失。此外,索赔人有权就事故造成的任何自付费用,例如药品或其他支出,提出索赔。索赔人还有权要求索赔人在事故索赔法院期间支付的任何医疗报告或专家报告。

如果您发生了出租车事故,则应采取以下准备措施:

  1. 出租车司机的详细信息,车辆注册和出租车司机的会员编号
  2. 负责事故的其他任何驾驶员的详细信息
  3. 的士司机的保险详情
  4. 发生事故的其他车辆的名称和地址,车辆详细信息和保险详细信息
  5. 如果发生事故的任何证人,您应获取任何证人的姓名,地址和联系方式
  6. 事故发生后,您应尽快寻求医疗救助,以记录对受伤的详细评估
  7. 您应与您的律师谈谈,以指示您的律师代表您向伤害委员会提出索赔。
  8. 您应保留与事故有关的医疗和自付费用的所有收据

现在,火车和电车事故在爱尔兰很普遍。我们发现,因火车或电车事故而受伤的索赔人通常遭受重大伤害。我们还发现,火车事故可能以多种不同的方式发生,而这些事故不一定是由于与火车本身的碰撞而发生的,而是由于诸如火车上的物体引起危险,地板湿滑,涉及其他物体的事故等情况而发生的。乘客或工作人员以及其他各种情况。

例如,我们遇到了一种观点,即客户跌落在火车和月台之间导致严重伤害和心理不适时,他们正在离开火车。这已经发生了很多次。

如果索赔人在火车事故中或没有因其过失而卷入火车,则索赔人有权要求赔偿其人身伤害。根据伤害的性质和火车事故的情况,这很可能包括对心理伤害的索赔。

如果您曾经遇到过火车事故,则应采取以下准备措施:

  1. 尽早寻求医疗救治,以便为索赔目的完全记录您的伤害
  2. 尽可能详细地记录事故,包括事故在火车上的位置以及事故发生的方式
  3. 向有关当局报告此事。例如,如果您乘爱尔兰铁路旅行,则应将此事报告给爱尔兰铁路。如果您乘坐Luas旅行,则应将此事报告给Luas当局Transdev
  4. 如果有事故的目击者,那么您应该详细了解这些目击者及其电话和联系方式
  5. 您应尽快与您的律师谈谈,以指示您的律师就您的伤害向伤害委员会提出索赔
  6. 您的律师可能会从火车上请求闭路电视录像或要求适当的授权机构保存事故的闭路电视录像,以协助索赔。

不幸的是,道路死亡事故在爱尔兰已变得司空见惯,并且这种死亡事故正在增加。赔偿永远无法补偿一个亲人的损失。但是,这在减轻致命伤害带来的经济负担方面可能只是一小部分,特别是在死者有受抚养家庭成员而导致受抚养人收入减少的情况下。

最常见的致命伤害索赔是道路交通事故引起的。第二种最常见的致命伤害索赔是涉及工作场所内发生致命伤害的索赔。

致命伤害索赔中可追偿的损害赔偿类型

致命伤害赔偿索赔中可追偿的损害赔偿类型根据以下原则确定:

  1. 因死亡而产生的特殊损害赔偿,用于支付丧葬费和现金费用
  2. 失去依赖
  3. 情绪困扰

丧失抚养权的索赔通常由直系亲属的丈夫或妻子或民事伴侣提出。它通常是由死者的下一个朋友/父母的孩子带来的。在确定遗属损失索赔时将考虑许多因素,例如死者去世时的收入及其支出。

在处理致命事故索赔中的依赖损失时,我们总是聘请专家精算师向法院提供证据以支持收入损失索赔。法院还考虑死者的子女,尤其是完全依靠死者的未成年子女。

情绪困扰补偿

致命伤害索赔的法定最高赔偿额为35,000欧元。根据《民事责任法》,这笔款项分配给死者的所有法定受抚养人。无论受抚养亲属的人数多少,只有一笔法定金额为35,000欧元的款项。

工作场所致命伤害索赔和道路交通致命伤害索赔

致命伤害是由于工作场所事故还是道路交通事故引起的,这对索赔的应享赔偿额没有影响。不幸的是,Sinnott律师在两种情况下都处理了致命的事故索赔,无论事故如何发生,索赔的准备工作都保持不变。必须证明事故不是死者的过错。

获得您应得的补偿

提出索赔
安排电话

Road Traffic Accidents

Road traffic personal injury claims are the most common type of injury claim and the largest proportion of compensation paid out every year is paid to those persons injured

Types of Accident

Many Claimants are involved in accidents that concern uninsured drivers.  In cases where a driver is not insured or cannot be identified, then a Claimant will have no other option but to pursue their claim through the Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland.  The claim is a two tier process where your Solicitor will be required to deal with the Injuries Board and the Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland.  The Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland was established in 1955 between the government and companies underwriting motor insurance for the purpose of compensating victims of road traffic accidents caused by uninsured or unidentified vehicles.  The role of the Motor Insurers’ Bureau is to compensate victims of road traffic accidents caused by uninsured and unidentified vehicles.  A Claimant that pursues a claim through the Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland will receive no less compensation than a Claimant who has been involved in an accident with an insured driver.

Your Solicitor will be required to take you through specific instructions in order to complete the claim notification form to the Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland.  The claim is also submitted to the Injuries Board in order to pursue a claim for personal injuries compensation for the Claimant.  In addition to compensation for personal injuries, a Claimant would also be entitled to compensation for psychological injuries if applicable.  The Claimant would also be entitled to claim for special damages for any out of pocket expenditure, loss of earnings and the Claimant would be entitled to claim their legal costs as part of the claim.

If a Claimant is involved in an accident with an uninsured driver, in order to proceed through the Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland there are conditions that firstly must be satisfied.  The Claimant must make themselves available for an interview by an authorised agent of the MIBI.  The Claimant has a right to have the Claimant’s Solicitor present at the interview.  The Claimant must have a number of details to hand as follows:-

  1. The Claimant’s name, date of birth, PPS number and address
  2. Registration number, type and make of the uninsured vehicle (if possible)
  3. The details of the Garda Station where the road traffic accident was reported
  4. The reason why the Claimant considers the car to be uninsured
  5. The date and time of the accident
  6. The place of the accident
  7. A brief description of the accident

By far the largest number of injury claims with the Injuries Board arise from car accidents where the Claimant claims compensation for personal injuries as a result of the car accident.  Whether the Claimant is a driver, motor cyclist or a cyclist, if the Claimant is struck by another vehicle and suffers injuries as a result, then the Claimant is entitled to claim compensation for personal injuries.

There are certain matters which must be attended to when you have a car accident as follows:-

  1. If possible speak to those who witnessed the accident and take their details
  2. Call the Gardai to attend the scene of the accident because it may be necessary to look for a Garda Abstract Report to support the injury claim
  3. The Claimant should seek medical advice as soon as possible after the accident as the Claimant will be required to attend their doctor or consultant for the purposes of obtaining a medical report in order to submit to the Injuries Board with the personal injury claim
  4. The Claimant should instruct their Solicitor with a view to making an application to the Injuries Board in connection with the car accident compensation claim
  5. The Claimant’s Solicitor will then prepare the application for the Injuries Board, deal with the Defendant’s insurance company and take all necessary details from the Claimant in order to lodge the claim.

A Claimant can claim the following compensation as a result of a car accident:-

  1. Compensation for personal injuries
  2. Compensation for psychological injuries (if applicable)
  3. A refund of all out of pocket expenditure in connection with the car accident claim such as loss of income, fees for medical reports, medication and so on
  4. Compensation for material damage to the Claimant’s vehicle (if applicable)

Those involved in motor cycle accidents are far more vulnerable than those who are travelling in a car.  Injuries sustained as a result of motor cycle accidents tend to be far more serious than injuries sustained from car accidents.  Broken bones, multiple fractures and severe back and neck injuries are common features of motor cycle accidents.  A Claimant involved in a motor cycle accident which is not the Claimant’s fault is entitled to seek compensation for personal injuries.  In addition, the Claimant is entitled to seek compensation for psychological injuries if applicable and the Claimant is also entitled to claim any out of pocket expenses that the Claimant has incurred as a result of the accident.  For example, the Claimant may have a loss of earnings claim, a material damage to the Claimant’s vehicle claim, expenditure for medication and any other expenditure arising as a result of the accident.

In order to initiate a personal injuries compensation claim as a result of a motor cycle accident, the Claimant would be required to pursue that claim through the Injuries Board.  Sinnott Solicitors have a wealth of experience in dealing with Claimants involved in motor cycle accidents.  It is important that a Claimant instructs their Solicitor promptly so that the Claimant can be guided through the process and that the Claimant’s Solicitor can prepare the application for submission to the Injuries Board.

A Claimant involved in a motor cycle accident should attend to the following preliminary matters in order to proceed with a personal injuries claim:-

  1. Immediately obtain details of the other driver to the accident, their vehicle and their insurance details
  2. Contact the Gardai and ask the Gardai to attend the scene of the accident as a Garda Abstract Report may be required in order to assist with the claim
  3. If there are witnesses to the accident, the Claimant should take details of those witnesses
  4. The Claimant should immediately seek medical attention and retain all records of doctors attending
  5. The Claimant should retain all receipts in respect of medical attendances and prescriptions and medication
  6. The Claimant should instruct their Solicitor who will prepare the claim for lodging with the Injuries Board.

If a Claimant has been involved in a pedestrian accident which was not the fault of the Claimant, then the Claimant is entitled to make a personal injury compensation claim.  Pedestrian accidents commonly occur.  Some claims are a lot stronger than others.  For example, if a pedestrian is knocked down on a pavement or at a pedestrian crossing, then the Claimant is likely to have a very strong claim for personal injuries compensation.  If it transpires that the driver of a vehicle that hit the pedestrian was speeding at the time of the impact, then the driver may well be the cause of the accident even if the pedestrian has walked out in front of the vehicle.

We find that Claimants who have been involved in pedestrian accidents are generally seriously injured because of the vulnerability of the pedestrian when impacted by the vehicle.  If a Claimant has been involved in a pedestrian accident then it is important to take the following steps in order to initiate a personal injures action for compensation:-

  1. Immediately obtain the details of the driver of the vehicle and the driver’s insurance details
  2. Contact the Gardai immediately and request the Gardai to attend the scene of the accident as your Solicitor may well require a Garda Abstract Report in furtherance of your personal injuries claim
  3. If there are any witnesses to the accident, you should take details of those witnesses
  4. You should immediately seek medical attention and retain all records of doctors that you attend
  5. Retain all receipts in respect of medical attendances, prescriptions and medication
  6. Instruct your Solicitor who will prepare your claim for lodging with the Injuries Board

If you are a pedestrian who has been injured in an accident, then you will be entitled to claim compensation for your physical and/or psychological injuries that you sustain.  In addition, you would also be entitled to claim for any out of pocket expenses such as medical expenses, prescription and so on.  In addition, you may well be entitled to claim loss of earnings if you have been out of work as a result of the accident.

Cycling accidents can happen in a number of ways.  In our experience, we find that those who have been involved in cycling accidents are generally seriously injured.  That is because of the vulnerability of the cyclist when impacted by a vehicle.  We also find that cyclists who have been involved in cycling accidents may also be traumatised psychologically by the accident and are therefore entitled to pursue a claim for their psychological injuries in addition to pursuing a claim for the physical injuries.

Every cycling accident claim must first be lodged with the Injuries Board.  Sinnott Solicitors would be in a position to assist any Claimant to make that application and to assist the Claimant to achieve the maximum compensation available.

A cyclist who has been involved in an accident should take the following preparatory measures:-

  1. Immediately obtain the details of the driver of the vehicle and the driver’s insurance details
  2. Contact the Gardai immediately and request the Gardai to attend the scene of the accident as your Solicitor may well require a Garda Abstract Report in furtherance of your personal injuries claim
  3. If there are any witnesses to the accident, you should take details of those witnesses
  4. You should immediately seek medical attention and retain all records of doctors that you attend
  5. Retain all receipts in respect of medical attendances, prescriptions and medication
  6. Instruct your Solicitor who will prepare your claim for lodging with the Injuries Board

In addition to taking a claim for compensation for physical and psychological injuries, a Claimant may also take a claim for loss of earnings if the Claimant was unable to work as a result of the cycling accident.  The Claimant can also take a claim for any out of pocket expenses incurred such as expenses for medication, prescriptions and financing of medical reports.

Sinnott Solicitors have dealt with numerous Claimants who have been involved in bus accidents over the years.  Bus accidents can occur in a number of different ways from tripping or falling whilst on a bus to being involved in a collision with a bus.  We find that Claimants who have been hit by a bus are generally very seriously injured.  That is because of the vulnerability of the Claimant when impacted by the vehicle.

A Claimant involved in a bus accident is entitled to make an application for compensation for personal injuries to the Injuries Board.  Sinnott Solicitors can assist a Claimant in making that application.  Claimants that have been involved in bus accidents are entitled to claim compensation for their physical and or psychological injuries.  In addition, Claimants would also be entitled to make a claim for any loss of earnings if the Claimant has been out of work as a result of the accident.  In addition, the Claimant would be entitled to claim for all out of pocket expenditure incurred as a result of the accident such as medication, prescription medication, fees for medical reports and any other out of pocket expenses.

If a claimant has been involved in a bus accident, the Claimant should take the following preparatory measures:-

  1. The Claimant should gather as much evidence as possible including the details of any witnesses to the accident, name and addresses and contact telephone numbers
  2. The Claimant should if possible, obtain the registration number of the bus, the destination of the bus and the details of the bus driver
  3. The Claimant should take careful note of where the accident occurred because it may be necessary to seek CCTV footage if available from the local authority/town council
  4. The Claimant should also note the time of the accident so that the Claimant’s Solicitor can request the CCTV footage from the bus.  Nowadays there is generally CCTV footage available from all public transport vehicles.

If you have been involved in a bus accident, Sinnott Solicitors would be in a position to assist you to make a personal injuries compensation claim on your behalf.

We come across many Claimants who have been involved in an accident whilst travelling in a taxi.  It is a very common occurrence particularly around the city.  If you have been involved in an accident with a taxi or whilst travelling in a taxi and sustained personal injuries as a result, then you will be entitled to make a claim for compensation for the injuries that you sustain.  You may be entitled to claim compensation for your physical and/or psychological injuries.  In addition, a Claimant can also make a claim for loss of earnings if the Claimant was out of work as a result of the accident.  In addition, the Claimant would be entitled to pursue a claim for any out of pocket expenditure such as medication or other expenditure incurred as a result of the accident.  The Claimant would also be entitled to claim for any medical reports or expert reports paid for by the Claimant during the court of the accident claim.

If you have been involved in a taxi accident, then you should take the following preparatory measures:-

  1. Details of the taxi driver, the registration of the vehicle and the membership number of the taxi driver
  2. Details of any other drivers responsible for the accident
  3. Insurance details of the taxi driver for the vehicle
  4. The names and addresses, vehicle details and insurance details for other vehicles which were party to the accident
  5. If there are any witnesses to the accident, you should obtain the name, address and contact details of any witnesses
  6. You should seek medical advice as soon as possible after the accident in order that a detailed assessment of your injuries can be recorded
  7. You should speak to your Solicitor with a view to instructing your solicitor to lodge a claim to the Injuries Board on your behalf
  8. You should retain all receipts in respect of medical and out of pocket expenditure in connection with the accident

Train and tram accidents are now commonplace in Ireland.  We have found that Claimants who have been injured as a result of train or tram accidents generally sustain significant injuries.  We have also found that train accidents can happen in a number of different ways and those accidents do not necessarily occur because of a collision with the train itself but rather from circumstances such as objects on trains which cause a hazard, wet floors, incidents involving other passengers or staff and a variety of other circumstances.

For example, we have come across a view claims where our clients were exiting a train when they fell down between the train and the platform causing significant injury and psychological upset.  This has happened on a number of occasions.

If a Claimant has been involved in an accident on a train or involving a train through no fault of the Claimant, then the Claimant may be entitled to pursue a claim for compensation for the claimant’s personal injuries.  This may well include a claim for psychological injuries depending upon the nature of the injuries and the circumstances of the train accident.

If you have aver been involved in a train accident, then you should take the following preparatory measures:-

  1. Seek medical attention as soon as possible in order that your injuries can be fully recorded for the purposes of your claim
  2. Take as detailed a note as possible of the accident to include the location of the accident on the train and the manner in which the accident happened
  3. Report the matter to the appropriate authority.  For example, if you are travelling with Irish Rail, the matter should be reported to Irish Rail.  If you are travelling on a Luas, then the matter should be reported to the Luas Authorities Transdev
  4. If there are witnesses to the accident, then you should take details of those witnesses and their telephone and contact details
  5. You should speak to your Solicitor as soon as possible in order to instruct your Solicitor to lodge a claim to the Injuries Board in respect of your Injuries
  6. Your Solicitor may request CCTV footage from the train or request the appropriate authority to preserve the CCTV footage of the accident in order to assist the claim

Unfortunately, road fatalities have become commonplace in Ireland and such fatalities are on the rise.  Compensation could never compensate a person for the loss of a loved one.  However, it can go a small part of the way to ease the financial burdens associated with fatal injuries particularly in circumstances where the deceased person had dependent family members resulting in a loss of income for the dependents.

The most common fatal injuries claims arise as a result of road traffic accidents.  The second most common fatal injuries claims are those involving fatal injuries that occur within the workplace.

Types of damages recoverable in fatal injuries claim

The types of damages recoverable in fatal injuries compensation claims are determined on the following basis:-

  1. Special damages arising from the death to cover funeral expenses and out of pocket expenses
  2. Loss of dependency
  3. Emotional distress

A loss of dependency claim is generally brought by a husband or wife or civil partner of the immediate family member.  It is often brought by a child of the deceased by his or her next friend/parent.  A number of factors will be taken into account in determining a loss of dependency claim such as the income of the deceased at the time of his or her death and their outgoings.

When dealing with loss of dependency in fatal accident claims, we always employ an expert Actuary in order to present evidence before the Court to support a claim for loss of earnings.  The Court also considers the children of the deceased and in particular any minor children who were completely dependent upon the deceased.

Compensation for emotional distress

There is a statutory limit of €35,000 for compensation for emotional distress in the case of fatal injuries claims.  Under the Civil Liability Act, that sum is divided between all of the statutory dependents of the deceased.  Regardless of the number of dependent relatives, there is only one statutory sum of €35,000 available.

Fatal injury claims in the workplace and fatal injury road traffic claims

Whether the fatal injury arises as a result of an accident in the workplace or as a result of a road traffic accident, it makes no difference to the entitlement of the amount of compensation claimed.  Unfortunately, Sinnott Solicitors have dealt with fatal accident claims in both scenarios and regardless of how the accident occurred, the preparation of the claim remains the same.  It is essential to prove that the accident was not the deceased’s fault.

Get The Compensation You Deserve

Start Your Claim
Schedule A Call