نقدم لعملائنا نصائح عملية وقانونية شاملة حول مجموعة من قرارات رفض منح الطلاب

استئنافات منحة الطلاب وتطبيقات المحكمة العليا

تلقى برنامج Student Universal Support Ireland (SUSI) ما يقرب من 10000 طلب للحصول على منحة طالب هذا العام. نظرًا لتأثير Covid-19 ، من المتوقع أن يتقدم المزيد من الطلاب للحصول على الدعم المالي هذا العام. افتتح برنامج المنح الطلابية للعام الدراسي 2020/2021 يوم الجمعة 24 أبريل 2020.

استئناف منحة الطلاب 

إذا لم ينجح طلبك للحصول على منحة طالب ، فمن الممكن استئناف قرار SUSI. إذا كان مقدم الطلب غير راضٍ عن قرار منحه ، فيمكنه استئناف القرار إلى مسؤول الاستئناف في هيئة منح المنح في غضون 30 يومًا. يجب على موظف الاستئناف اتخاذ قرار في غضون 30 يومًا. يتوفر نموذج إشعار الاستئناف من SUSI أو السلطة المحلية / مجلس التدريب التعليمي عند الطلب.

نداء إلى مجلس استئناف المنح الطلابية 

إذا أيد مسؤول الاستئناف القرار الأصلي ، فيمكنك عندئذٍ تقديم استئناف إلى مجلس استئناف المنح الطلابية. تم إنشاء مجلس طعون المنح الطلابية بموجب قانون دعم الطلاب لعام 2011. ويتكون المجلس من رئيس وستة أعضاء عاديين يتم تعيينهم جميعًا بصفتهم الفردية بناءً على معرفتهم وخبرتهم. يراجع المجلس الطعون المقدمة من المتقدمين بموجب نظام المنح الطلابية لعام 2011 وما بعده فيما يتعلق بالقرار المتعلق بطلب المنحة.

تم تقديم عملية تقديم طلبات استئناف منحة الطلاب عبر الإنترنت لجميع الطعون المقدمة إلى مجلس طعون منح الطلاب. يمكن تقديم الطعون عبر الإنترنت إلى المجلس من خلال الموقع الإلكتروني التالي www.studentgrantappeals.ie 

يجب تقديم الاستئناف عبر الإنترنت في غضون 30 يومًا من تاريخ الرسالة من مسؤول الاستئناف في SUSI. يمكن تقديم معلومات ووثائق إضافية من خلال النظام عبر الإنترنت.

لدى مجلس طعون المنح الطلابية 60 يومًا للبت في الطعن. سيتم إبلاغ مقدم الطلب خطياً بقرار مجلس الطعون. دور المجلس هو تحديد ما إذا كانت الشروط والأحكام المتعلقة بخطة منح الطلاب والتشريعات المرتبطة بها قد تم تطبيقها بشكل صحيح.

لا يملك المجلس أي سلطة تقديرية للانحراف عن أحكام نظام منح الطلاب أو لوائح دعم الطلاب أو قانون دعم الطلاب. يمكن لمجلس الطعون أن ينظر فقط في ما إذا تم تطبيق شروط نظام منحة الطلاب بشكل صحيح من قبل السلطة المانحة وموظف الاستئناف في تحديد أهلية مقدم الطلب للحصول على منحة بموجب النظام.

إذا لم يكن المتقدم راضيًا عن قرار مجلس الاستئناف ، فإن القانون ينص على استئناف للمحكمة العليا ضد القرار بشأن نقطة قانونية محددة.

الاستئناف أمام المحكمة العليا بشأن نقطة قانونية

لا يمكن لمقدم الطلب استئناف قرار رفض مجلس الاستئناف مباشرة أمام المحكمة العليا. يجب على مقدم الطلب أولاً التقدم بطلب إلى مجلس طعون منح الطلاب للحصول على إذن للاستئناف وفقًا للمادة 21 (6) من قانون دعم الطلاب لعام 2011. لا يوجد حد زمني واضح في القانون أو اللوائح لمثل هذا الطلب للحصول على إذن للاستئناف أو طلب استئناف رفض الاستئناف.

بمجرد إصدار مجلس الاستئناف خطابًا للحصول على إذن بالاستئناف أمام المحكمة العليا بشأن نقطة قانونية ، يجب تقديم الطلب إلى المحكمة العليا في غضون 21 يومًا من تاريخ خطاب منح الإذن. يتمتع Sinnott Solicitors Dublin and Cork بخبرة في تقديم المشورة للطلاب بشأن الطعون المحتملة أمام المحكمة العليا في نقطة محددة من القانون.

نجح عدد من عملائنا في الطعن في رفض مجلس استئناف المنح الطلابية أمام المحكمة العليا بشأن نقطة قانونية. يمكن لمحامي Sinnott Solicitors دبلن وكورك فحص قرار مجلس استئناف المنح الطلابية من أجل تقديم المشورة فيما إذا كان يمكن استئناف القرار أمام المحكمة العليا في نقطة قانونية محددة.

مثال الحالة 

أحد الأمثلة على إحدى هذه القضايا التي رفعها Sinnott Solicitors Dublin and Cork إلى المحكمة العليا يتعلق بمسألة القطيعة. في هذه الحالة بالذات ، تم رفض طلب المنحة المقدم من مقدم الطلب على أساس أن مجلس الاستئناف لم يكن مقتنعًا بأن مقدم الطلب كان منفصلاً عن والديه وبالتالي غير قادر على الحصول على المساعدة المالية من والديه لمتابعة تعليم مقدم الطلب. عند فحص قرار المجلس ، أصبح من الواضح أن المبادئ التوجيهية الموضوعة فيما يتعلق بالغربة من المحتمل أن تكون متجاوزة لصلاحيات المخطط حيث بدا أن تلك الإرشادات تساوي "القطيعة" مع الإجرام ، والإساءة ، والخلل الوظيفي ، والنشاط المعادي للمجتمع ، إلخ. المعنى العادي من القطيعة هي الانفصال أو المسافة ومن خلال طلب التوثيق من المهنيين مثل الأخصائي الاجتماعي أو الشرطة تجاهلت حقيقة أن مقدم الطلب يمكن أن ينفصل دون أن يكون ضحية لجريمة أو إهمال أو عنف منزلي. اعتبر محامو Sinnott ، دبلن وكورك ، أنه سيكون دليلًا مقنعًا للغاية على القطيعة ، لكن هذه الأمور بحد ذاتها لا ينبغي أن تكون الدليل الوحيد المقبول.

في هذه الحالة بالذات ، طلب Sinnott Solicitors Dublin و Cork إذنًا من مجلس استئناف المنح الطلابية لاستئناف الأمر أمام المحكمة العليا بشأن نقطة قانونية. أسفرت القضية عن نتيجة ناجحة لمقدم الطلب. تم إلغاء قرار مجلس الاستئناف. أعاد مقدم الطلب استئناف القرار أمام مجلس استئناف المنح الطلابية بنجاح.

ما سبق هو مجرد مثال على حالة قام مقدم الطلب باستئنافها بنجاح لرفض SUSI ومجلس طعون منح الطلاب لاعتبار مقدم الطلب مؤهلاً للحصول على منحة للطلاب.  

لا يدرك العديد من الطلاب أنه يمكنهم الطعن في المسألة أمام المحكمة العليا بشأن نقطة قانونية محددة ، وبالفعل لا يستطيع العديد من الطلاب اتخاذ مثل هذه التدابير. ونصيحتنا لأي طالب تم رفض منحه للطالب أنه يجب على هذا الطالب استئناف أي رفض إذا كانوا يعتقدون أن SUSI لم تتخذ القرار الصحيح. إذا استأنف مقدم الطلب هذا القرار إلى مجلس Appels لمنح الطلاب وإذا تم رفض هذا الالتماس في وقت لاحق ، فيجب على مقدم الطلب الحصول على مشورة من المحامي حول ما إذا كانت هناك أسباب كافية لطلب إجازة المجلس من أجل استئناف المسألة إلى المحكمة العليا في نقطة قانونية محددة.

يقدم محامو Sinnott Solicitors Dublin و Cork مثل هذه الخدمة وبمساعدة المستشار المتخصص ، يمكننا فحص ما إذا كان بإمكان مقدم الطلب استئناف قرار الرفض إلى المحكمة العليا في نقطة قانونية محددة. إذا تم رفضك من قبل SUSI ومن ثم من قبل مجلس استئناف المنح الطلابية ، فقد ترغب في الحصول على مزيد من المشورة القانونية حول ما إذا كانت قضيتك تستحق الطعن في المحكمة العليا.

احتاج الى نصيحة؟ تحدث مع خبير.

يقع Sinnott Solicitors في دبلن وكورك

استفسر

Student Grant Appeals

Student Grant Appeals are complex and there exists an appeal mechanism to the High Court on a specified point of law.

We provide our clients with comprehensive practical and legal advice on a range of student grant refusal decisions

 

Student Grant Appeals and High Court Applications

The Student Universal Support Ireland (SUSI) has received almost 10,000 applications for a Student Grant already this year.  Due to the impact of Covid-19, it is anticipated that more students will apply for financial support this year.  The Student Grants Scheme for the 2020/2021 academic year opened on Friday 24th April 2020.

Student Grant Appeal 

If your application for a student grant is not successful, it is possible to appeal the decision of SUSI.  If an Applicant is not satisfied with the decision on their grant, they can appeal the decision to the Appeals Officer in the Grant Awarding Body within 30 days.  The Appeals Officer must make a decision within 30 days.  A Notice of Appeal Form is available from SUSI or your local authority/educational training board upon request.

Appeal to the Student Grants Appeals Board 

If the Appeals Officer upholds the original decision, you may then appeal to the Student Grants Appeals Board.  The Student Grants Appeals Board was established under the Student Support Act 2011.  The Board comprises of a Chairperson and six ordinary members all appointed in their individual capacities based upon their knowledge and expertise.  The Board reviews appeals from Applicants under the 2011 Student Grants Scheme onwards in relation to the decision on their grant application.

A online student grant appeals process has been introduced for all appeals to the Student Grants Appeals Board.  Online appeals to the Board may be submitted through the following website www.studentgrantappeals.ie 

Appeals must be submitted online within 30 days from the date of the letter from the Appeals Officer in SUSI.  Additional information and documentation can be submitted through the online system.

The Student Grants Appeals Board has 60 days in which to make a determination on an appeal.  The Applicant will be informed in writing of the Appeals Boards decision.  The role of the Board is to determine whether the terms and conditions relating to the Student Grant Scheme and associated legislation were applied correctly.

The Board does not have any discretion to deviate from the provisions of the Student Grant Scheme, the Student Support Regulations or the Student Support Act.  The Appeals Board can only consider whether the conditions of the Student Grant Scheme have been applied correctly by the awarding authority and the Appeals Officer in determining the Applicant’s eligibility for a grant under the scheme.

If an Applicant is not satisfied with the decision of the Appeals Board, the law provides for an appeal to the High Court against the decision on a specified point of law.

Appeal to the High Court on a point of Law

An Applicant cannot appeal a refusal of the Appeals Board directly to the High Court.  The Applicant must firstly apply to the Student Grants Appeals Board for leave to appeal in accordance with Section 21(6) of the 2011 Student Support Act.  There is no apparent time limit in the Act or the Regulations for such an application for leave to appeal or an application appealing a refusal of leave to appeal.

Once the Appeals Board issues a letter for leave to appeal to the High Court on a point of law, the application must be made to the High Court within 21 days of the date of the letter granting leave.  Sinnott Solicitors has experience in advising students of potential appeals to the High Court on a specified point of law.

A number of our client’s have been successful in appealing refusals of the Student Grants Appeals Board to the High Court on a point of law.  Sinnott Solicitors can examine the Student Grants Appeals Board decision in order to advise as to whether the decision could be appealed to the High Court on a specified point of law.

Case Example 

An example of one such case that Sinnott Solicitors has taken to the High Court concerns the issue of estrangement.  In that particular case, the Applicant’s Grant Application was refused on the basis that the Appeals Board were not satisfied that the Applicant was estranged from his parents and thereby unable to obtain the financial assistance of his parents in pursuit of the Applicant’s education.  Upon examination of the Board’s decision, it became apparent that the guidelines set out in respect of estrangement were potentially ultra vires the scheme as those guidelines appeared to equate “estrangement” with criminality, abuse, dysfunctionality, anti-social activity etc.  The ordinary meaning of estrangement is one of separation or distance and by requiring documentation from professionals such as a social worker or a Garda ignored the fact that an Applicant could be estranged without being the victim of crime, neglect or domestic abuse.  Sinnott Solicitors considered that it would be very compelling evidence of estrangement but that those matters of themselves should not be the only acceptable evidence.

In that particular case, Sinnott Solicitors requested leave of the Student Grants Appeals Board to appeal the matter to the High Court on a point of law.  The case resulted in a successful outcome for the Applicant.   The decision of the Appeals Board was quashed.  The Applicant re-appealed the decision to the Student Grants Appeals Board successfully.

The above is just an example of a case where the Applicant successfully appealed the refusal of SUSI and the Student Grants Appeals Board to deem the Applicant eligible for a student grant.  

Many students are not aware that they can appeal the matter to the High Court on a specified point of law and indeed many students cannot afford to take such measures.  It is our advice to any student that is refused a student grant that that student should appeal any refusal if they are of the opinion that SUSI have not made the correct decision.  If the Applicant appeals that decision to the Student Grants Appels Board and if that appeal is subsequently refused, then the Applicant should take advice from a Solicitor as to whether there are sufficient grounds to seek leave of the Board in order to appeal the matter to the High Court on a specified point of law.

Sinnott Solicitors provide such a service and with the assistance with specialist Counsel, we can examine whether an Applicant could potentially appeal a refusal decision to the High Court on a specified point of law.  If you have been refused by SUSI and subsequently by the Student Grants Appeals Board, then you may wish to obtain further legal advice as to whether your case could be worthy of a High Court challenge.

Need Advice? Speak With An Expert.

Make an Enquiry