学生助学金上诉

学生助学金的上诉很复杂,并且在特定的法律点上有向高等法院上诉的机制。

我们为客户提供一系列拒绝学生资助决定的全面的实践和法律建议

 

学生助学金上诉和高等法院申请

爱尔兰学生普遍支持(SUSI)今年已经收到近10,000份学生助学金申请。由于Covid-19的影响,预计今年会有更多的学生申请经济资助。 2020/2021学年的学生助学金计划于周五24开始 2020年4月。

学生助学金申诉 

如果您的学生资助申请未成功,则可以对SUSI的决定提出上诉。如果申请人对资助决定不满意,可以在30天内向资助授予机构的上诉官员提出上诉。上诉官员必须在30天内做出决定。可根据要求从SUSI或您当地的教育/培训委员会索取上诉通知书。

向学生助学金上诉委员会提出上诉 

如果上诉官维持原判,则您可以向学生助学金上诉委员会上诉。根据2011年《学生资助法》设立了学生助学金上诉委员会。该委员会由一名主席和六名普通成员组成,所有成员均根据其知识和专长以个人身份任命。董事会将根据2011年学生助学金计划开始审查申请人关于其助学金申请的决定的上诉。

已针对学生向学生资助金上诉委员会提出的所有上诉引入了在线学生资助金上诉程序。可以通过以下网站向董事会提出在线上诉 www.studentgrantappeals.ie 

申诉必须在SUSI申诉官发出信函之日起30天内在线提交。可以通过在线系统提交其他信息和文档。

学生助学金上诉委员会有60天的时间来决定上诉。上诉委员会的决定将以书面形式通知申请人。董事会的职责是确定与学生助学金计划和相关法律有关的条款和条件是否得到正确应用。

董事会无权酌情偏离《学生助学金计划》,《学生支持条例》或《学生支持法》的规定。上诉委员会只能在决定申请人是否符合该计划的补助金资格时,考虑授予机构和上诉官员是否正确地应用了学生补助金计划的条件。

如果申请人对上诉委员会的决定不满意,法律规定针对特定法律问题的决定向高等法院提出上诉。

student grant appeals

就法律问题向高等法院提出上诉

申请人不能直接向高等法院提出上诉委员会的拒绝。申请人必须首先根据2011年《学生资助法》第21(6)条向学生资助申诉委员会申请上诉许可。该法令或实施细则中没有明显的时间限制,可以提出上诉许可申请或上诉拒绝上诉许可的申请。

上诉委员会一经发出法律许可书,可向高等法院提出上诉,则必须在授予许可书之日起21日内向高等法院提出申请。 Sinnott律师事务所在为学生提供法律咨询方面的经验方面具有丰富的经验。

我们的许多客户已成功就法律问题向高等法院上诉,拒绝了学生资助金上诉委员会。 Sinnott律师可以检查学生资助上诉委员会的决定,以就是否可以在指定法律上就该决定提出上诉提出建议。

案例范例 

Sinnott律师向高等法院提起的一个此类案件的一个例子就是疏远问题。在该特殊情况下,申请人的补助金申请被拒绝,理由是上诉委员会不满意申请人与父母之间的疏远,因此无法获得父母的经济资助以追求申请人的教育。在审查了委员会的决定后,很明显,有关疏离的准则可能会越过该计划,因为这些准则似乎将“疏远”等同于犯罪,虐待,功能失调,反社会活动等。普通含义疏远是分隔或疏远中的一种,它要求社会工作者或加尔达(Garda)等专业人士提供文件,却忽略了可以疏远申请人而不会成为犯罪,疏忽或家庭虐待的受害者的事实。 Sinnott律师认为这将是令人信服的疏远证据,但这些问题本身并不是唯一可以接受的证据。

在这种情况下,Sinnott律师请求学生助学金上诉委员会允许在法律上将此事上诉至高等法院。该案为申请人带来了成功的结果。上诉委员会的决定被撤销。申请人已成功向学生资助上诉委员会重新上诉了该决定。

以上仅是一个示例,其中申请人成功地对SUSI的拒绝提出了上诉,而学生资助金上诉委员会认为申请人有资格获得学生资助。  

许多学生并不知道他们可以在指定的法律上向高等法院上诉,实际上许多学生无力采取此类措施。我们向任何拒绝学生资助的学生提供建议,即如果学生认为SUSI没有做出正确的决定,则该学生应提出任何拒绝的申诉。如果申请人向学生资助计划上诉委员会上诉该决定,并且随后上诉被拒绝,则申请人应征询律师的意见,以了解是否有充分理由寻求委员会许可,以便将该事项上诉给学生资助委员会。高等法院在指定的法律问题上。

Sinnott律师提供了这样的服务,并在专业法律顾问的协助下,我们可以研究申请人是否可以在指定的法律上就拒绝决定向高等法院提出上诉。如果您被SUSI拒绝,然后又被学生资助上诉委员会拒绝,则您可能希望就您的案件是否值得高等法院质疑获得进一步的法律咨询。

需要建议吗?与专家交谈。

做一个调查

Student Grant Appeals

Student Grant Appeals are complex and there exists an appeal mechanism to the High Court on a specified point of law.

We provide our clients with comprehensive practical and legal advice on a range of student grant refusal decisions

 

Student Grant Appeals and High Court Applications

The Student Universal Support Ireland (SUSI) has received almost 10,000 applications for a Student Grant already this year.  Due to the impact of Covid-19, it is anticipated that more students will apply for financial support this year.  The Student Grants Scheme for the 2020/2021 academic year opened on Friday 24th April 2020.

Student Grant Appeal 

If your application for a student grant is not successful, it is possible to appeal the decision of SUSI.  If an Applicant is not satisfied with the decision on their grant, they can appeal the decision to the Appeals Officer in the Grant Awarding Body within 30 days.  The Appeals Officer must make a decision within 30 days.  A Notice of Appeal Form is available from SUSI or your local authority/educational training board upon request.

Appeal to the Student Grants Appeals Board 

If the Appeals Officer upholds the original decision, you may then appeal to the Student Grants Appeals Board.  The Student Grants Appeals Board was established under the Student Support Act 2011.  The Board comprises of a Chairperson and six ordinary members all appointed in their individual capacities based upon their knowledge and expertise.  The Board reviews appeals from Applicants under the 2011 Student Grants Scheme onwards in relation to the decision on their grant application.

A online student grant appeals process has been introduced for all appeals to the Student Grants Appeals Board.  Online appeals to the Board may be submitted through the following website www.studentgrantappeals.ie 

Appeals must be submitted online within 30 days from the date of the letter from the Appeals Officer in SUSI.  Additional information and documentation can be submitted through the online system.

The Student Grants Appeals Board has 60 days in which to make a determination on an appeal.  The Applicant will be informed in writing of the Appeals Boards decision.  The role of the Board is to determine whether the terms and conditions relating to the Student Grant Scheme and associated legislation were applied correctly.

The Board does not have any discretion to deviate from the provisions of the Student Grant Scheme, the Student Support Regulations or the Student Support Act.  The Appeals Board can only consider whether the conditions of the Student Grant Scheme have been applied correctly by the awarding authority and the Appeals Officer in determining the Applicant’s eligibility for a grant under the scheme.

If an Applicant is not satisfied with the decision of the Appeals Board, the law provides for an appeal to the High Court against the decision on a specified point of law.

Appeal to the High Court on a point of Law

An Applicant cannot appeal a refusal of the Appeals Board directly to the High Court.  The Applicant must firstly apply to the Student Grants Appeals Board for leave to appeal in accordance with Section 21(6) of the 2011 Student Support Act.  There is no apparent time limit in the Act or the Regulations for such an application for leave to appeal or an application appealing a refusal of leave to appeal.

Once the Appeals Board issues a letter for leave to appeal to the High Court on a point of law, the application must be made to the High Court within 21 days of the date of the letter granting leave.  Sinnott Solicitors has experience in advising students of potential appeals to the High Court on a specified point of law.

A number of our client’s have been successful in appealing refusals of the Student Grants Appeals Board to the High Court on a point of law.  Sinnott Solicitors can examine the Student Grants Appeals Board decision in order to advise as to whether the decision could be appealed to the High Court on a specified point of law.

Case Example 

An example of one such case that Sinnott Solicitors has taken to the High Court concerns the issue of estrangement.  In that particular case, the Applicant’s Grant Application was refused on the basis that the Appeals Board were not satisfied that the Applicant was estranged from his parents and thereby unable to obtain the financial assistance of his parents in pursuit of the Applicant’s education.  Upon examination of the Board’s decision, it became apparent that the guidelines set out in respect of estrangement were potentially ultra vires the scheme as those guidelines appeared to equate “estrangement” with criminality, abuse, dysfunctionality, anti-social activity etc.  The ordinary meaning of estrangement is one of separation or distance and by requiring documentation from professionals such as a social worker or a Garda ignored the fact that an Applicant could be estranged without being the victim of crime, neglect or domestic abuse.  Sinnott Solicitors considered that it would be very compelling evidence of estrangement but that those matters of themselves should not be the only acceptable evidence.

In that particular case, Sinnott Solicitors requested leave of the Student Grants Appeals Board to appeal the matter to the High Court on a point of law.  The case resulted in a successful outcome for the Applicant.   The decision of the Appeals Board was quashed.  The Applicant re-appealed the decision to the Student Grants Appeals Board successfully.

The above is just an example of a case where the Applicant successfully appealed the refusal of SUSI and the Student Grants Appeals Board to deem the Applicant eligible for a student grant.  

Many students are not aware that they can appeal the matter to the High Court on a specified point of law and indeed many students cannot afford to take such measures.  It is our advice to any student that is refused a student grant that that student should appeal any refusal if they are of the opinion that SUSI have not made the correct decision.  If the Applicant appeals that decision to the Student Grants Appels Board and if that appeal is subsequently refused, then the Applicant should take advice from a Solicitor as to whether there are sufficient grounds to seek leave of the Board in order to appeal the matter to the High Court on a specified point of law.

Sinnott Solicitors provide such a service and with the assistance with specialist Counsel, we can examine whether an Applicant could potentially appeal a refusal decision to the High Court on a specified point of law.  If you have been refused by SUSI and subsequently by the Student Grants Appeals Board, then you may wish to obtain further legal advice as to whether your case could be worthy of a High Court challenge.

Need Advice? Speak With An Expert.

Make an Enquiry